Plz help with OCZ PC4000VX Overclock!

T-rock

Hi, I'm new to the overclocking game and I'm having trouble. This is what I've done so far:

Sempron 3100 @ a relatively stable OC to 2.7Ghz (300x9) on stock HSF (1.65v), on a

DFI LanParty UT 250GB NF3. Upon settling with that I lowered the multi to 7x for 2100 Mhz. Now I can't even run my 1gb OCZ PC4000 VX at anything acceptable. Right now it generates 54 errors at 90-99% Test 5 in memtest. Worst of all, here are the settings: 166 (233mhz) at 3-4-3-8 2T @3.17v !!!! That is absolutely horrible. This is advertised at 250mhz, 2-2-2-5 with 3.3v. Now my mobo can't do 3.3, but 3.1 is close enough to not have my results. I was really hoping for at least 250mhz 1T without the tight timings advertised because of lack of voltage. And I would LOVE to hit 300mhz. So please help me, I would really appreciate it! Oh btw, what is some good ddr600 ram, and do 2gb ddr600 exist?

T-rock,

Welcome to the Street. You came to the right place for support on your DFI board and your oc challenge. To start off read this The Definitive DFI AMD Overclocking Guide. Get your max Mhz (speed) for your CPU and Memory. Then start asking questions but most of all be patient and have fun.

You may want to try one stick at a time in memtest to rule out a bad stick.

Also check Stock Speed Database and the Overclocking Database to see other peoples settings. This should get you pointed in the right direction.

tasr :)

The difference between 3.1 volts and 3.3 is quite abit when talking about BH-5 and trying to loosen the settings is not going to work. I don't see any other timings listed so I am going to guess they are all on auto and that will not get you anywhere close to 250. 300 with BH-5 will never happen as the record right now is 283 with over 3.7 volts. First you will need to work at getting it stable at 200, with about 2.8 or 2.9 volts.

Try setting up like this and see what you get and how far you can push it with 3.1 volts.