cmos ok

my brother just set up a pc same specs as me basically ie. same ram , mobo, cpu, gfx.

now a week after he set it up it restarted 2 times automaticaly and right after was not getting into windows giving an irq is not less or equal blue screen.

after taking out one of the 512mb memory it seemed to be working fine.

after trying put in the other 512 stick it wasnt eben booting and sort of crashes after the cmos ... ok line in the dos.

any idea what could be wrong ?

tried updating bios but to no avail

thanks

Hi,

follow steelballzz suggestion and run Memtest 1.65 with:

1) stick #1

2) try stick #2

3) try both together

always use the orange slots and flash back to 6-23-3 with optimized defaults.

Gipse

ok so can someone please give me a link for the memtest file and how to use it please since it is my first time and i found many memtest files and dont know which i need

10x

Bios version 623-3 is the one that you should be using right now. If we can't fix your problem with 623-3 then we could try another one later, but use 623-3 for now, you can get it from the official DFI website.