One Hot Mother

I have a Gigabyte mobo. I have just overclocked my Athlon 2600+ from 2087mhz to 2250mhz. The chip is running ok still, at around 39-40 idle. The mobo is running kinda warm at around 50-52. Any suggestions that will help me, I am kinda new to overclocking but I have been doing a lot of research on the matter, and been taking my time. Thanks.

Athlon 2600+ 2250mhz

1024ddr 333

120gb Maxtor

Radeon 9800Pro

Iceberg 1 water cooling (moded)

Antec Lanboy (aluminum case)

cooling:

one blower

harddrive cooler

one case fan exhaust

one case fan (on radiator) blow in

fan on power supply blowing in.

You mean the cpu is running 39-40 idle or the motherboard chipset?

Maybe you need to cleanup the wiring of your system or maybe you are getting incorrect temparture readings.

That is alittle weird b/c usually the motherboard temps are around 10 C below that of the cpu (at least for me anyway lol)

I usually use the hardware monitor that comes with the motherboard :) or maybe a well known hardware monitor.

If you are getting temperatures on your motherboard that are higher than your cpu, you might want to make sure you are reading the right sensor... If not that, then it could be that with a watercooled system, the little capacitor farm next to the cpu doesn't get the air circulation that it used to and the caps are heating up. This was a prob that I had after replacing the NB fan and cpu hsf with waterblocks.

A quick solution is to improve the airflow around the caps and NB area. Even better, you could use a fan bracket (Zalman) to put a 80mm of that area. Doing so lowered my MB temp by 15C to give a stable temp of 45C. ;)

Enjoy

Thank you for your advise. It is kinda crowded in there (Lanboy aluminum case). I will think of different ways to add more air to the mobo, should I get a more powerful PSU (I'm at 350 now)? I will strongly consider the Zalman.

Thanks agian.