Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Video Editing - Stretching Image


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 31 August 2013 - 09:42 PM

Hello everybody.

 

I'm making a short film. In fact I've finished but I wanted to try out a final effect. I want the final image to be stretched as if people were skinnier. I have a perfect example.Movie: Taxi Driver.

 

Normal image

 

Stretched image (De niro looks skinnier)

 

I'm using Sony Vegas Pro 10.0 but I can also use formay Factory but I cant find how to do it!!!

Thanks in advance

 

ps: ill post short film in YouTube and you all be notified =). Is very humble, nothing big!
 


Desktop: Intel i7 950 3.0Ghz / Corsair H60 / ASUS P6X58D-E / 6Gb DDR3 Patriot [email protected] / WD Black Sata3 1Tb 7200RPM / Samsung B2030 20" / Zotac 760gtx 4Gb / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Edifier R133 / Thermaltake v9 Black / Cooler Master 700w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x Sata / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif


#2 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 31 August 2013 - 11:47 PM

I should really use vegas one of these days since most video questions are related to that.  I'm not 100% sure but maybe changing the ratio from 16:9 to 4:3 would do it.  I guess the question is, are you trying to thin out the whole video screen or just part of it?

 

edit: I watched both videos posted and what your seeing is a normal wide screen movie squized into 4:3 ratio.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1080 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, 3x Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#3 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:14 AM

Hum I wasn't sure how to explain what I want.

 

Perhaps there is a camera with a resolution of (for example) 2000x900 so it is very wide. Over-wide let's call it. So when you fit for enter in 1600x900 you will see the image as in the second video.

I wanted to imitate the aspect ratio of the second video where you can see skinny characters not because of skinny but to give a RETRO-rare ambient image.


Desktop: Intel i7 950 3.0Ghz / Corsair H60 / ASUS P6X58D-E / 6Gb DDR3 Patriot [email protected] / WD Black Sata3 1Tb 7200RPM / Samsung B2030 20" / Zotac 760gtx 4Gb / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Edifier R133 / Thermaltake v9 Black / Cooler Master 700w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x Sata / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif


#4 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 03 September 2013 - 11:38 AM

so you only want to make the video fuzzy and grainy ?

otherwise all you need to so is convert ultrawide to 16:9 ( if your working I widescreen or 4:3 ( for standard def.

I guess I don't understand the question :(

Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1080 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, 3x Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#5 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 05 September 2013 - 05:55 PM

Yeah is hard to explain that's why i posted the two videos but it won't be much of a problem i just wanted to see how was the final result so i put a special thing on the short film.. anyway i modified it with some color effects so is not just a simple recording but a more processed video.. nothing wow anyway :P


Desktop: Intel i7 950 3.0Ghz / Corsair H60 / ASUS P6X58D-E / 6Gb DDR3 Patriot [email protected] / WD Black Sata3 1Tb 7200RPM / Samsung B2030 20" / Zotac 760gtx 4Gb / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Edifier R133 / Thermaltake v9 Black / Cooler Master 700w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x Sata / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif


#6 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 05 September 2013 - 06:00 PM

I have not used Sony Vegas, but I would imagine just about every video editing software lets you force the output into and dimensions you want.


ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#7 aaron6581230

aaron6581230

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 September 2013 - 06:44 PM

All you really need to do is set a custom resolution when you render the video. Set it to something with less "length" than your original source, and everything should look "skinnier".

 

Unless what you mean is starting off with a 16x9 video and wanting to render it as a "skinnier" 16x9 video.


CPU: Intel i5-4690K

CPU Cooler: Corsair H80i

Motherboard: ASUS Z97I-PLUS

Ram: Dataram 16GB 1600MHz

GPU: AMD Radeon R9 280X

PSU: Seasonic G-Series 750W

Boot Storage: Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240GB

Storage: Hitachi 2TB 7200RPM HDD; Seagate Constellation 4TB

Case: Fractal Design Node 304


#8 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 09 September 2013 - 09:42 AM

All you really need to do is set a custom resolution when you render the video. Set it to something with less "length" than your original source, and everything should look "skinnier".

 

Unless what you mean is starting off with a 16x9 video and wanting to render it as a "skinnier" 16x9 video.

I tried with vegas with a resolution of .. 900x900 or so and the image was still 16:9 is like my command was ignored. I'll have to try again.

And about the second option I don't know if that is possbile. Sounds like digitally/physically impossible unless the original video have a resolution of ... 2500x900 (filmed with an special camera that I don't know if exists) and then transform it to 1600x900 (for example)


Desktop: Intel i7 950 3.0Ghz / Corsair H60 / ASUS P6X58D-E / 6Gb DDR3 Patriot [email protected] / WD Black Sata3 1Tb 7200RPM / Samsung B2030 20" / Zotac 760gtx 4Gb / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Edifier R133 / Thermaltake v9 Black / Cooler Master 700w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x Sata / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset

Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz / 4GBRAM / HD 120 Gb 5400RPM / ATI x1250 128Mb / 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

2ag8awm.gif