Jump to content


Photo

AMD CPU's Reviewed


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#13 bilcliff

bilcliff

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1058 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vic, Australia

Posted 20 September 2010 - 11:30 PM

Great review ajmatson :thumbsup: makes me wish i had enough cash to swap out my system for an AM3 PII X6 system. its a shame that in reality my first priority should be giving the gtx260 the boot.

What do you suggest? Would you like us to remove a bunch of CPU's to make it easier to read?

someone may have suggested something along these lines in the recent contest that was run :whistling:

I7 3770 / Z77X-UD3H / 16GB Ripjaws X PC3-14900 / Samsung 840 250GB /

 Gigabyte HD 7950 / Antec 1200 / Corsair TX650M / Win 7 64 bit


#14 joel.monteiro

joel.monteiro

    The Engineer.

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai,India

Posted 21 September 2010 - 12:23 AM

the i5 661 is performing insane,compared to the i7s and AMD phenom X6,any thoughts? :dunno:
Phenom 9950 BE @ 2.7 ,Noctua NH-D14 ,Gigabyte 780G,Palit Sonic HD 4870 Oc 830/1120 ,Tagan 500w upto 600w ,Benq hd2200 max res 1920x1080 ,NZXT Tempest Evo ,Corsair Xms2 800 Mhz 4GB

#15 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:24 AM

nice review....I am very surprised the 1075T isnt a Black Edition as well...still a real nice bunch of chips...
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#16 maj.meathead

maj.meathead

    New Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 05:19 AM

I have a couple of questions. In any of these games tested, did any benefit from 2 extra cores in any way. Did the games that use Havoc Physics have any benefit ? I believe Havoc relies more on processor than the graphics card ??? With the 6 core...... frame rates are the usual with benchmarks but did any of the games actually "feel" or were they noticeably smoother running ? When doing benchmarks, do you actually play any of these games or do you use a built in benchmark system of yours or manufacturers design ? Why no benchies at 1920x1200 ? Nobody plays games at 800x600 and those could be eliminated.

#17 krazypoloc

krazypoloc

    Samba Samurai

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milwaukee

Posted 21 September 2010 - 10:10 AM

I just wish I didn't buy my 1090T so early (impulse buy). :(

Why is that?

Headless Storage Server
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O | Xeon E3-1230V3| 16GB  DDR3 1333 ECC | Intel 80GB SSD | 12x Seagate 3TB | 6x Seagate 1TB SAS | 6x Seagate 1.5TB | 2x LSI HBA | vSphere 5.5
Workstation

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3 | i5 [email protected] | Megahelms | 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | 2X GTX670 4GB FTW | 3x Shimian 27" displays | 2x Crucial  M4 256GB | Windows 8


#18 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 21 September 2010 - 10:14 AM

I have a couple of questions. In any of these games tested, did any benefit from 2 extra cores in any way. Did the games that use Havoc Physics have any benefit ?

With everything running at the lowest settings (and very low resolution) you can't really say anything about how they'll perform when the engine/cpu is actually loaded down. I doubt that many of them utilize more than 3 or 4 cores though.

I think BF:BC2 makes use of as many cores as you can give it for the destructible environments when you crank the settings.

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#19 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 21 September 2010 - 10:17 AM

Why is that?

The prices will probably drop soon... and I probably could have gotten a 1055T or 1075T instead. The best deal at MicroCenter for the 1090T, so I got that instead. I'm not saying I don't like my 1090T though. :)

#20 krazypoloc

krazypoloc

    Samba Samurai

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milwaukee

Posted 21 September 2010 - 11:10 AM

With everything running at the lowest settings (and very low resolution) you can't really say anything about how they'll perform when the engine/cpu is actually loaded down. I doubt that many of them utilize more than 3 or 4 cores though.

I think BF:BC2 makes use of as many cores as you can give it for the destructible environments when you crank the settings.

Yup...BC2 is very weird though. Clock speed is king....

http://www.techspot....ance/page7.html

Headless Storage Server
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O | Xeon E3-1230V3| 16GB  DDR3 1333 ECC | Intel 80GB SSD | 12x Seagate 3TB | 6x Seagate 1TB SAS | 6x Seagate 1.5TB | 2x LSI HBA | vSphere 5.5
Workstation

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3 | i5 [email protected] | Megahelms | 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | 2X GTX670 4GB FTW | 3x Shimian 27" displays | 2x Crucial  M4 256GB | Windows 8


#21 krazypoloc

krazypoloc

    Samba Samurai

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milwaukee

Posted 21 September 2010 - 11:18 AM

The prices will probably drop soon... and I probably could have gotten a 1055T or 1075T instead. The best deal at MicroCenter for the 1090T, so I got that instead. I'm not saying I don't like my 1090T though. :)

Oh....well thats not what it sounded like. :)


IMHO those graphs are extremely difficult to read, the colors are so similar its really hard to figure out what shade you are looking at.

Headless Storage Server
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O | Xeon E3-1230V3| 16GB  DDR3 1333 ECC | Intel 80GB SSD | 12x Seagate 3TB | 6x Seagate 1TB SAS | 6x Seagate 1.5TB | 2x LSI HBA | vSphere 5.5
Workstation

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3 | i5 [email protected] | Megahelms | 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | 2X GTX670 4GB FTW | 3x Shimian 27" displays | 2x Crucial  M4 256GB | Windows 8


#22 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 21 September 2010 - 11:32 AM

Yup...BC2 is very weird though. Clock speed is king....

http://www.techspot....ance/page7.html

Damn...that is odd.

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#23 krazypoloc

krazypoloc

    Samba Samurai

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milwaukee

Posted 21 September 2010 - 12:13 PM

Damn...that is odd.

Yeah I actually got a massive jump in FPS when I went from my [email protected] to my current [email protected] Thats with the same video card (ATI HD4870).

Edited by krazypoloc, 21 September 2010 - 12:14 PM.

Headless Storage Server
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O | Xeon E3-1230V3| 16GB  DDR3 1333 ECC | Intel 80GB SSD | 12x Seagate 3TB | 6x Seagate 1TB SAS | 6x Seagate 1.5TB | 2x LSI HBA | vSphere 5.5
Workstation

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3 | i5 [email protected] | Megahelms | 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | 2X GTX670 4GB FTW | 3x Shimian 27" displays | 2x Crucial  M4 256GB | Windows 8


#24 joel.monteiro

joel.monteiro

    The Engineer.

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai,India

Posted 22 September 2010 - 01:27 AM

Thats weird this game hardly uses my cpu,its more on gpu i though,the only game that uses my cpu the most is gta 4
Phenom 9950 BE @ 2.7 ,Noctua NH-D14 ,Gigabyte 780G,Palit Sonic HD 4870 Oc 830/1120 ,Tagan 500w upto 600w ,Benq hd2200 max res 1920x1080 ,NZXT Tempest Evo ,Corsair Xms2 800 Mhz 4GB