Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Memory Failure: RAM or Controller

memory ram error dead

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:04 PM

Hey Y'all,

So after spending my paycheck on amazon, my computer crashed... And 4 hours later i have determined that i have 2 dead sticks of RAM. Sooo needless to say my win 7 pc is next to useless with 2gbs of RAM.

I am about to buy some cheap ram, but before i do i want to know if there is a way to determine whether the issue was the ram itself or the memory controller. Only reason i ask is because this board is 4 years old, and for the first 2 it was moderately overclocked, and has been stressed all of its life.

 

And my other question is, what do y'all recomend in the DDR3 RAM department. The sticks that just died were G Skill Pi 1600 mhz. I'm not interested in overclocking at this point, just solid and bang for the buck.

 

Thanks,

Speed


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#2 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:14 PM

Did the 2 sticks of ram die at the same time, that is very strange ?


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#3 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11294 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:29 PM

Run memtest from a cd or flash drive and see what tests it fails on. Try each DIMM  by itself and see if it passes memtest. You can look at voltages on the mem controller and looser timings to see if any of that helps.  


Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#4 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:47 PM

Did the 2 sticks of ram die at the same time, that is very strange ?

That is the weird part, i pulled all three and ran each individually to see which sticks let the pc boot; 2 did. So i put those two in together and it booted then hung and crashed. So i went back to individual sticks and one of those two failed this time.

 

Run memtest from a cd or flash drive and see what tests it fails on. Try each DIMM  by itself and see if it passes memtest. You can look at voltages on the mem controller and looser timings to see if any of that helps.  

I have a memtest cd somewhere i will dig out but for now all i have used is the windows memtest. It passed basic and standard for 20 loops fine, but failed extended at 21% on all three together. One stick ran all the above fine(the one i'm running on), the second that ran until paired failed extended on its third pass at about the 21% mark again. And the third stick failed extended at 2%. Now i know Ms memtest aint that great but until i lay hands on my memtest cd it will have to do.

My main problem is i need access for school and work and down time will hurt my grades as most of my assignments are on my pc.


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#5 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 29 October 2013 - 06:57 PM

Did you have any type of power failures in your area lately, I know a power surge will blow more than one component at the same time. :yucky:


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#6 Braegnok

Braegnok

    KCCO

  • Folding Member
  • 471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 29 October 2013 - 11:14 PM

For cheep ram,.. I would go to your nearest computer shop and get which ever value memory they buy in bulk and keep in stock with a life time warranty,.. any brand will be fine and if it fails you can exchange it quickly with out RMA or mailing it in. Good Luck hopefully it's not your controller.


Intel Core i7-4930K

Asus Rampage IV Gene

Asus GTX780-OC-6GD5

G.SKILL F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD

Crucial M550 256GB SSD

Corsair Obsidian 350D

Thermaltake 1050W

Corsair Hydro Series H100i

Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit

                                  


#7 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 30 October 2013 - 03:58 AM

Contact G.Skill - they have a lifetime warranty on everything don't they?

Posted Image

Booyah.


#8 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:33 AM

Yes they do........

 

Might not be the fastest solution, but would likely be the cheapest  :)


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#9 larrymoencurly

larrymoencurly

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 November 2013 - 10:17 PM

I like any module where you can easily read the part numbers off the chips and those part numbers are from the actual chip maker, as opposed from the module maker (unless the module was made by a chip maker, like Micron/Crucial or Samsung).  Sometimes you can find such modules in a local store, but generally only Crucial and Samsung brand modules are like that.



#10 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 05 November 2013 - 09:44 AM

Contact G.Skill - they have a lifetime warranty on everything don't they?

 

 

Yes they do........

 

Might not be the fastest solution, but would likely be the cheapest   :)

It would be cheapest, but probably fairly slow, and i would need to take the functioning stick out of my pc to do that as they require you to send the whole set. At your own expense too.

Thinking i'm going to order some cheap RAM and then make a fuss to G.Skill at my leisure rather than worrying about getting my pc running again in a hurry.

I'm way out of it on the RAM game so i'll need some opinons but i'm looking at picking up three of these as i have some amazon credit and a prime account.

http://www.amazon.co...83672877&sr=1-4

What do y'all think? I don't overclock anymore, i just need something that will run and last till i need to upgrade the whole machine in another year or two. And they have a lifetime warranty too, so some added security. I just have no clue as to the timing, latency etc implications for day to day use.


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#11 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 11 November 2013 - 04:53 PM

Well the crucial sticks arrived Thursday, and this morning i took a minute to install them... Nothing! I tried each individually, no change. PC won't even boot with the one stick that was keeping me running. Safe mode works, but windows continues to hang just before the logo regardless of memory config(i tried every possible combination of the six sticks i now have).

Interestingly i slapped a live cd of linux mint(and later ubuntu) in and it too refused to boot in anything other than compatibility mode(safe mode equivalent).

So i'm rather perplexed, seems to me its a mobo issue, but i'm not really sure how to fix it. I say mobo because it must be something that slips by when minimal drivers are used, but it can't be a software issue as it also fails to boot a live cd that i can slap in another computer and run normally.

 

Any ideas? I really don't want to have to build a new pc, i am on the knife edge of broke broke.


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#12 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 11 November 2013 - 07:09 PM

Try resetting your bios to default, best way is to remove the cmos battery, this worked for me more than once.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: memory, ram, error, dead