Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Can't get a stable connection?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 stackrainer

stackrainer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 May 2013 - 12:22 PM

So I have 2 routers. One is a linksys and the other is a netgear. They are both running DD-DWRT. The linksys is running as a repeater for the other half of the house. My questions are, is there something wrong with my connection according to this chart? My phone was connected to the repeater and was downloading an album off of the google play store. I was thinking that I would get a more stable download than this. I'd also like to see what you guys would recommend to do to tweak the 2 routers to run more efficiently and get a stronger signal. With only 20 mb/s of internet shared between everyone watching netflix and youtube, it can get rather bogged down. 

 

Here's the screenshot. This is from the netgear router (the main router).

networking.png



#2 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 May 2013 - 11:32 PM

Have you configured the wireless connection between the router and the repeater as full duplex?

This graph is the typical result of this problem.


boozei.gif


#3 stackrainer

stackrainer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 May 2013 - 11:01 AM

Well I dug high and low for the settings in DD-DWRT on both routers and couldn't find it. I'm thinking about getting just one really nice router. I did raise the TX power to 71 db a while back though. Think that would have any effect?



#4 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 20 May 2013 - 07:15 AM

Stack - there is a degradation in download bandwidth when using a repeater.  Just an FYI.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 May 2013 - 12:07 PM

^ speed becomes almost half of the original bandwidth, but it would never result in those speed spikes like what can be seen here..


boozei.gif


#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 21 May 2013 - 05:48 AM

Where at in my post did I say the use of a repeater had anything to do with the bandwidth spikes????  


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 Nerm

Nerm

    OCC Beefcake

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison, IN

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:30 AM

The spikes are traversing both the wan and lan interfaces pretty much simultaneously. Normally I see this sort of thing when the ISP has so called "burst mode" enabled for the client and they are downloading a large file. Personally I would run a packet capture and see what is going on at the time stamps of the spikes.


Rig #1 :: Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz :: 2x HD4850 Crossfire :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl ::

Rig #2 :: i7-3930K @ 4Ghz :: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series :: Evga GTX 670 :: Asus P9X79 Pro :: OCZ Vertex 256GB SSD ::
HTPC :: 4850e :: HD2600xt :: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H :: 1TB Storage ::
OCC Site Rules :: Site Help FAQ :: Extreme Cooling FAQ :: OCC Benchmark Team


#8 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2013 - 10:42 AM

Where at in my post did I say the use of a repeater had anything to do with the bandwidth spikes????  

 

Ah, sorry for that. I misunderstood your post at the first place.


boozei.gif


#9 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 22 May 2013 - 11:48 AM

No worries.  I shouldn't have derailed the thread by mentioning the bandwidth penalty of using a repeater.  Really that was irrelevant to the OPs original question/problem.  My bad.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#10 SilvesterNorman

SilvesterNorman

    New Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2013 - 11:46 PM

Same problem I also used to have with linksys router. I guess these routers have this manufacturing defects. There was nothing I could to have a stable connect with this one.