Abit Refugee

Hello all

New to DFI been using Abit for some years now. I just recieved my 4800 X2 last week and the only bios for my Abit Av8 that is compatible with the X2 is...well lets just say that is why Im here with you now. It was a great stable board with my A-64 3500 but not with the X2 and its required bios I will take delivery Friday of what is in my signature and Im studying these boards so I can have a somewhat trouble free build. If anyone has any pointers regarding my build especially concerning set-up of my single SATA boot drive and the 4800 X2 its very much appreciated. (I have just returned from an Abit induced SATA nightmare with their latest Bios) Ive built a number of boxes but this will be my first DFI. Seems like a nice helpful bunch around here and these forums were the deciding factor in my purchase.

Regards

Mark

Guest Shibby

Looks good...just flash to 623-3 official BIOS for X2 support. There's a good setup guide here (search for a thread by ed jacobson) that goes through everything for the board step by step (essentially the same as most builds, just make sure that you have all 4 power connectors hooked up to the mobo).

I have the same ram, had to tweak the BIOS settings slightly so it wouldn't hang on memtest test #8, no biggie.

Hello and welcome to the forum,

I to am a refugee from Abit, I have an AV8 that I have overclocked to it’s limit, so moved on to an AN8 Ultra. This I found had some issues with the memory clocking (basically not as good as Dfi), and the one I had seemed to be faulty inasmuch as certain CPU multiplier did not seem to work correctly.

So I returned the AN8 Ultra and have purchased a DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D. This is a fine and very overclockable MB that I am really happy with, however the journey to get it up and running was not easy, as I shall explain.