setting up motherboard

Hi, im new to the world of computers. I like putting things together, mainly car things because im a automechanic. However i want to try building a computer, i've read many forums and manuals for my hardware and i have a general idea on how to put it together peice by peice/wire by wire. However i don't really know about stuff related to the jumpers on my motherboard.

My real question is:

What jumpers and the settings should i put for my rig?

my computer specs should be on my signiture

P.S you can laugh but at least help me, Please and Thank you

jumpers = you dont need to fool with any jumpers on the board (for beginners, advanced users can play with them a bit for certain things)

always upon first successful boot, go into bios, and Load Optimized Defaults, save & exit. Return to bios if you want to turn things on/turn things off etc.

jumpers = you dont need to fool with any jumpers on the board (for beginners, advanced users can play with them a bit for certain things)

always upon first successful boot, go into bios, and Load Optimized Defaults, save & exit. Return to bios if you want to turn things on/turn things off etc.

So, you say I can proceed to install OS and drivers, etc, now that Optimised Defaults are Loaded.

Oh yes, I am a beginner, but not 4 long, hehe :D

ah thank you....

now i have some specific questions about some jumper settings....

im interested in ps/2 power select/ usb power select/ s/pdif-out settings and the dram 4v support as i tend to pick up some overclocking...

question: should i turn them all on? and put the jumpers for the dram 4v select?

also

is my ram ok for a newb overclocker? (can i maybe tighten the ram settings maybe oc ram to 220 fsb?)

thanks

Don't move the DRAM jumper unless you find yourself wanting more than 3.3V. The regulators will get seriously hot if they have to regulate down from 5V to 2.6 as opposed to from 3.3.