I Can't Get My Temps Down Help =(

Hi everyone. Im new to high end machines and this is my first gaming rig. Im having some trouble keeping my cpu and gpu temps down. My setup includes a core 2 quad q6600, evga 780i mobo, an evga 8800 gts gpu, 4gigs ocz sli ram, an ultra 650w psu, and i just switched to the thermaltake big typhoon cooler after finding out the thermaltake v1 doesnt fit in my case. Anyway so im running vista 64bit, and according to my bios, coretemp, and evga precision, my cpu cores are in the mid 40's and my gpu is above 52 (celcius). I would like to clock this rig higher than stock but i dont think it will be stable if i do cuz it crashes playin WOW as it is. (i get black checkerboard on my display) any suggestions would be appreciated. :D

My setup includes a core 2 quad q6600, evga 780i mobo, an evga 8800 gts gpu, 4gigs ocz sli ram, an ultra 650w psu, and i just switched to the thermaltake big typhoon cooler after finding out the thermaltake v1 doesnt fit in my case. Anyway so im running vista 64bit, and according to my bios, coretemp, and evga precision, my cpu cores are in the mid 40's and my gpu is above 52 (celcius).

Those temps are fine. Look elsewhere for the cause of your crashing. I'd run memtest on that RAM first.

Your GPU could idle at 62c and run load somewhere in the 80s within spec, and as long as your CPU isn't going above 65c (rated much higher, but I'd have a mild stroke if I saw my Q6600 cores above 65c) it is running well within where it should be.