Building a gaming rig for the first time

Shade Sparrow

Okay, I know how to construct the pc once I have all of the hardware. My problem is choosing the hardware. I'm 15 years old and I've only owned one pc in my life. Unfortunately, my pc is from 2000 and won't run the lowest games from a year ago XD

Because of this, I'd like to build a new pc, for the performance and the satisfaction of building my own. I'm not sure if I want to overclock or not. My budget is going to be anywhere from $2000-$2500. I definitely wouldn't mind shaving off a few hundred dollars as long as it will give me good performance for a while. The pc will be built at the end of this summer.

I'd like a nice sized widescreen LCD monitor, so keep that in mind. Anyway, I need help choosing hardware since I'm just beginning to gain interest in computers and pc gaming. If you could provide price and a link to the product, that'd be great.

Thanks in advance to anyone who helps.

-Shade Sparrow

P.S. - If posts like these aren't allowed here, sorry. I saw some other topics asking for help but they already had a basic list of what they wanted. Not sure if this is allowed.

Edited by Shade Sparrow

Of course it's allowed, in fact it's encouraged :)

Your budget should be able to get you something very nice indeed (I'm sure we can bring in a nice under budget version as well).

You've explained pretty well what's required I think, but I have a couple more questions which should help when putting together a list of components.

What sort of games do you play / are planning on playing?

Are you planning on using it for other tasks apart from gaming, such as edit video/audio or using 2D and 3D design programs (e.g. Photoshop, 3DS Max)?

I'm assuming you want to include everything, do you need a new mouse and keyboard? Speaker system?

Any other priorities.. such as what kind of look you're going for and if it being quiet is important to you.

I think that pretty much covers everything :)