small overclock.. Look like an okay start? (screenshots)

Steven T

This is with the stock HSF and Antec 900 case. I have a Noctua NH-U12F in the mail... any thoughts? I've never overclocked so I feel a little shakey...

There's no way I can do my CPU intense audiowork with these kind of temperatures. So I must be doing something wrong, yah? E6600 at only 2.8 with stock HSF shouldnt run so hot. Goes easily to a steady 50c when working in my music production sequencer (with only 50% cpu usage).

untitled1ad1.jpg

Edited by Steven T

you are off to a good start, I have no experience with dual core processors nor do I have any experience with any intel chips in the overclocking department so I cant help much...

one thing that I would defently do is download the new OCCT and run that for 30 min to find out if its stable and you will then be able to see what your load temps are, which are just as important as your idle temps. kinda like hitting 2 birds with 1 stone type thing...:lol:

what was the point in quoting yourself StevenT?

It was an accident. You replied b4 I was done fixing it. Sorry. :)

I changed my voltage from 1.4 down to 1.2 and it made a huge change. I raised FSB up a bit now im at 3.01. My FDB DRAM ratio is now 11:13 (what does this mean) It should be 1:1. Is 11:13okay?

I ran OCCT (dunno if it's meant for 2 core systems) It finished the test fine. System appears stable.

Edited by sdy284