Hardware vs. Software

madwizard

I'm no expert but I find some things really funny when it comes to customers and their computers. This lady came in today and told me that she had a number of virus's on her computer and that this guy, living next to her, told her that the virus ruined her hard drive and that to fix her computer she needed to replace the hard drive. Oh, and she has win\xp - home. So this guy goes and takes her 80 gig hard drive and replaces it with a, get this, 6 gig, and yes, puts xp on it. :glare: I sill cannot believe it. To top it off he used a chopped up hacked version. This poor woman.

After I explained what he had done she started smoking at the seams.. :blink: So now she has to go out and buy a new copy of xp cause the recovery console for her computer was on the 80 gig and the guy no longer lives there & get a new hard drive that has plenty of gig's. The xp license sticker ? I looked and yeah, he took it off her computer and told her it was no longer good because it was tied to the hard drive and would not work on any other hard drive. So here she is with a computer that is only two years old and has had her hard drive riped off along with the license code for xp. Thought my day was bad.

one word... typical.

thoug it is true there are a small number of viri out there that CAN damage hardware. some will spin up the hard drive at max rpms for extended periods of time, others shut down thermal controlled fans (if controlled by the bios), and others corrupted the bios. though all of these are very rare and quickly figured out by Norton and others, they DO exist. I myself have been hit by the one that shut off fans.

one word... typical.