First Over Clock

mgsmid

I have a Q9550 (8.5x333) im overclocking for the very first time, with exception of me setting it to 3.4 for about 10 minutes (before i had p95 and other installed)

like i said this is my first time and i want to get some feedback and defiantly some pointers.

i have my cpu at 8.5x350 for about 3ghz at 1.2v in bios and 1.15 in cpu-z

i gave some small starts for my n/s bridges not much just something like one setting above on my north and stock on the south

i have a 750iftw and 4x1024 on auto at 5-5-5-18

real temps is reading o-30 1-30 2-31 3-31 ish maybe lower at times and speed fan is giving me some 36c-40c i dont know which one to work with (its been about 30 min running p95 and so far all 4 cores are stable) im using a true in push pull with 6 case fans 3 are high flow exhaust placed around the cpu (2x140's on top scythe 1900 and a preatty blue fan in back doing 90cfm) my powersupply is on the bottom

o yea i followed the overclocking guide for my bios setting, I think there ok but mine were worded a little diffrent and i never found a the setting PCI Clock Synchronization i found PCI Express Frequency

That's a good small start. How's stability and all that at 350x8.5? If things are looking good then maybe it's time to step up to 355x8.5 and test again. And then 360. And so on. Nice and easy is the way to do it :) I'd suggest giving OCCT a shot too in place of P95. For final stability P95 is awesome and some would say unbeatable, but for testing smaller OC steps, the OCCT 1hr test is really good. If you can pass the 1hr test, then move up. Once you find the top of your OC, you're going to want to test much longer than 1hr, but for now it's a quicker way than testing 24hrs at each increment :)