Ballistix PC4000

Guest r3d c0m3t_merged

Guest r3d c0m3t

I brought these sticks not too long ago and they're pretty good if I say so myself. I've seen a major improvement in NFS Most Wanted, FEAR and GTR 2, but that's aside from the point of this thread. I'm actually looking for a little help. I'm still relatively new to the overclocking thing (although I've been doing it for a little over a year) and I've seem to come across a snag with the trial and error process.

Okay...check out my sig for the details about the CPU and RAM. The snag is I can't seem to go any further than 245MHz, I don't know whether or not I put my foot in my mouth on this particular purchase, but it seemed like a good deal considering how hard it is to find any DDR rated about 400MHz these days. Oh and the odd thing is the RAM is actually running on a 1:1 ratio with the CPU even though it's not set to a 1:1 ratio(maybe someone could explain that, too.)

I'm just looking to know three things: Can I actually go any further and if so is it my lack of bettered cooling? Was this a bad purchase? Or am I doing something wrong all together. I'm also not positive whether it's 5B-G or 5B-D.

Man its been a while since the day that I played with my 4 sticks of them Ballistix. One thing to keep in mind is that they do run hot and they need active cooling. Every stick on different situations or systems OC very differently. Now with that being said, make sure you have enough cooling for them and never go over the 3.0 voltage. I have only used these sticks on the older boards so I would not be able to tell you how it does on the cfx-3200. There should still be some settings that you could use thats on the OCDB. I hope that you are also aware that these sticks have a very high rate of dying out.