Failed boots - motherboard dead?

Guest Enigma_merged

I love the DFI forums, they have been an immense help in the past and I am hoping someone here will be able to help me resolve my current issue.

I have been using a Lanparty UT Ultra-D for almost 2 years now and have been more than pleased with it. Up until two weeks ago the rig ran smoothly (after some initial tweeking of course). Two weeks ago Monday I started my computer in the morning, checked email and weather then left it running. When I came home for lunch the screen was black. I attempted a restart which failed and resulted in a loop of restarts. I had been using Vista but I had XP Pro on my Raptor so I attempted a boot into that. That also failed. The boot sequences were inconsistant, sometimes reaching Windows itself and sometimes failing at the Lanparty splash screen. I thought the PSU was the likely culprit and so disconnected every device but the essentials, no luck. I RMAed the PSU and connected the new one, even switching the cables I was using. I was able to boot into Vista the first time I tried, 15 minutes after the computer promptly died.

In its current condition, the computer will not boot at all. When I press the power button the fans spin for a short moment and then all is quiet. Only the first diagnostic LED is lit on the motherboard. I tried switching my RAM around in every configuration possible while I still had everything besides the essentials disconnected - even as far as removing the video card though I would not have video output at that point.