PCI bus issues

I'm new to the NF4 chipset and A64 CPUs so please forgive what is obviously a real noob question. When I first started overclocking in the old days raising the FSB too high would cause some peripherals on the PCI bus to crap out because they couldn't communicate at high speeds. I've come across a couple of issues in the last couple of days which appear to be similar but as I understand it the PCI bus speed is fixed on the EXPERT board regardless of FSB.

1. Windows XP will throw up errors when writing large files (38Gig DV-AVIs) to a LaCie 500Gig drive via USB 2.0 - it will fail to write about half way through a file. The same operation works via firewire, but it appears to be slow.

2. While Windows Movie Maker will capture video using a Canopus ADVC-55 firewire Svideo -> DV converter, Adobe Premiere Pro drops out after about 3 seconds of video capture with an unknown error.

Both errors disappear when I go back to stock speeds - neither task overly stresses the CPU or RAM.

Given the RAM I've got is rated to run at 500 MHz I'm not really pushing it at 480MHz (see sig). Prime 95 runs happily for 8 hours on both cores.

Could I be doing something that upsets the PCI bus or the peripherals or should I be looking elsewhere?

Confused from Surrey!

Tim

What do you have yours set to?

I've only really fiddled so far regarding overclocking - once my new Panaflo fan arrives tomorrow (H1BX) I'll go through the Overclocking guide in earnest - it could perhaps be RAM settings - I've just got the timings set per SPD at the moment, from what I've read the Corsair TWINX 4000PT 2048 sticks (UCCD ?) give the best bandwidth running with the loosest timings together with fastest clock speeds.

Tim

• 4 months later...
Guest caffeinejunkie
Note that DFI mobos don't set correct SPD values on this ram...my mobo set 3-3-3-8, when it should be 3-4-4-8.

Very true. it could also be a memory controller issue. Have you tried running memtest?