Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New to Overclocking first error.


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Jonnyblazex2

Jonnyblazex2

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:19 PM

CPU:Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6700 (4M Cache, 2.66 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB)

Memory:Kingston KVR800d2n6/2G

Motherboard: Asus P5Q Se Plus

 

Alright so I slowly increased the bus speeds on my core from 2.66 - 3.20 the voltage of my cpu was set to 1.288V, when the problem happened I had a bus speed of 3.25 ghz and a x10 multiplier. My temperature was averaging around 46-50 while playing arma 2. During a game of league of legends which it was my third My game froze violently and gave me a physical dumped memory bluescreen. What can I do to avoid this problem, also I used prime95 to stress test and the temperatures of my cpu jumped to 75 degrees within 20 seconds which is way past my boundaries. Do I need better cooling before I attempt to reset my bus speeds back to 3.20.

 

Please help :)

 
 


#2 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:22 PM

Hi Jonny.  Welcome to OCC.  Please post up all of your current BIOS settings as it applies to your overclock settings and we'll take a look at them.  Please include memory divider/strap/speed information.  


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#3 Jonnyblazex2

Jonnyblazex2

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:35 PM

Memory Information

 

Dram frequency 332.5

 

FSB  Dram 4:5

Cas# Latency 5

Ras# to Cas# Delay 5

Ras# precharge 5

Cycle time 15

Row Refresh Cycle time 44

 

Modify Ratio support [Disabled

Cie Support [Enabled]

Max CpuId Value Limit [Disabled]

Cpu Tm Function enabled 

Execute Disable bit Enabled

Intel Speedstep tech enabled

 

Memory Voltage [Auto] - Unknown

CPU Voltage [Auto] - 1.260V

North and south bridge [Auto]

 

This is most of the stuff I wrote on paper last time I was in the bios if you need something else ill go now.



#4 Jonnyblazex2

Jonnyblazex2

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:52 PM

My Memory is brand new



#5 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:02 PM

I would recommend disabling SpeedStep and CPU TM while overclocking (you can enable it when you have your final OC though)
Secondly, games are not generally used to check temps, as load varied from game to game, thus you were right in using Prime 95 :)
75C is a bit high, are you using the stock cooler?

Edited by EuroFight, 10 December 2012 - 02:03 PM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#6 Jonnyblazex2

Jonnyblazex2

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:19 PM

http://www.coolermas...y/full/top1.jpg

 

This is what the cooler looks like on my cpu I have 3 fans on my tower 



#7 Jonnyblazex2

Jonnyblazex2

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:20 PM

Do you think the physical dump memory crash could have been an overheat? I noticed a lot of dust on the cooler I'm gonna try to clean that now.



#8 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:30 PM

Good call, I would also suggest you clean dust out of any heatsinks, fans and off any components using compressed air, then see if you get so high temps. Also, check the airflow in your case is good (exhaust fans at top, intake at bottom etc.)

Edited by EuroFight, 10 December 2012 - 02:45 PM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#9 Jonnyblazex2

Jonnyblazex2

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 03:38 PM

I don't have compressed air I'll have to wait till tomorrow to deal with this matter I will post then.



#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:57 AM

Why chassis are you using? and please do mention the fan setup of that.


boozei.gif


#11 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:27 AM

Here are two decent "beginners" guides.  It will help you with the basics.

 

http://forums.overcl...ic=71656&page=1

http://forums.overcl...showtopic=63690


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg