Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

DDR5 Ram?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:19 PM

Was wondering if we are ever going to see DDR5 ram available for on board ram?


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#2 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:28 PM

Eventually, but first there's going to be DDR4, like what ADATA is going to have before long. Going to be a while (year or so) before those appear in consumer systems, however.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#3 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:36 PM

Eventually, but first there's going to be DDR4, like what ADATA is going to have before long. Going to be a while (year or so) before those appear in consumer systems, however.

I just find it a bit odd that it's standard now for GDDR5 memory to be used in GPUs and not motherboards.


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#4 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:44 PM

GDDR5, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, is actually based on DDR3. GDDR4 is also based on DDR3, while GDDR3 is based on DDR2.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#5 larrymoencurly

larrymoencurly

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:49 PM

Are you people still using DDR5?  

 

162544113_640.jpg



#6 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:56 PM

GDDR5, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, is actually based on DDR3. GDDR4 is also based on DDR3, while GDDR3 is based on DDR2.

Sounds right to me

 

 

I'm not really concerned when DDR4 or DDR5 come out, RAM speed and technology seems to make the least difference in most everyday computing. Naturally I support the change because nanometer shrinks so they become more efficient, more densely packed (higher capacity, one of the more important traits), and cheaper (if they aren't gouging).


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#7 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2013 - 02:03 PM

 

GDDR5, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, is actually based on DDR3. GDDR4 is also based on DDR3, while GDDR3 is based on DDR2.

Sounds right to me

 

 

I'm not really concerned when DDR4 or DDR5 come out, RAM speed and technology seems to make the least difference in most everyday computing. Naturally I support the change because nanometer shrinks so they become more efficient, more densely packed (higher capacity, one of the more important traits), and cheaper (if they aren't gouging).

 

Yes, I don't think technology can get all that faster, maybe by the time we are all dead and gone but I don't think we'll need any extremely overkilled builds anytime soon for every day use. Sure it's a bit different if you're a video editor for example but other then that eh not so sure.


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#8 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 12 September 2013 - 03:37 PM

 

 

GDDR5, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, is actually based on DDR3. GDDR4 is also based on DDR3, while GDDR3 is based on DDR2.

Sounds right to me

 

 

I'm not really concerned when DDR4 or DDR5 come out, RAM speed and technology seems to make the least difference in most everyday computing. Naturally I support the change because nanometer shrinks so they become more efficient, more densely packed (higher capacity, one of the more important traits), and cheaper (if they aren't gouging).

 

Yes, I don't think technology can get all that faster, maybe by the time we are all dead and gone but I don't think we'll need any extremely overkilled builds anytime soon for every day use. Sure it's a bit different if you're a video editor for example but other then that eh not so sure.

 

And even then, when I used to render video back in my game design days....all it took was more memory (capacity). I didn't see very much difference when I tweaked memory speed.


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#9 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 12 September 2013 - 10:25 PM

buy up all your ddr3 ram sticks before ddr4 hits the field, if they get the same money boost as ddr2 had, you are rich! :P

 

 

 

personally i dont have any interest in ddr4 ram, its nice its there, but i already have pretty fast ram.

it never bottle-necked me before so why would it do in the near future?


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#10 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2013 - 10:28 PM

buy up all your ddr3 ram sticks before ddr4 hits the field, if they get the same money boost as ddr2 had, you are rich! :P

 

 

 

personally i dont have any interest in ddr4 ram, its nice its there, but i already have pretty fast ram.

it never bottle-necked me before so why would it do in the near future?

All depends on the software you want, I suppose photoshop 20.5 would bottleneck it  :P


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#11 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 12 September 2013 - 11:20 PM

buy up all your ddr3 ram sticks before ddr4 hits the field, if they get the same money boost as ddr2 had, you are rich! :P
 
 
 
personally i dont have any interest in ddr4 ram, its nice its there, but i already have pretty fast ram.
it never bottle-necked me before so why would it do in the near future?

All depends on the software you want, I suppose photoshop 20.5 would bottleneck it  :P
No, your wallet/bank account would sooner be suspect for bottlenecking the performance :lol:

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#12 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 13 September 2013 - 06:13 AM

640K is enough for anyone!

I remember getting EDO memory back in the day and it definitely made a difference! DDR3 was a decent bump up from 2...time will tell on DDR4.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.