Newbie Here Taking Suggestions

Just wanted to say a quick hello to the forum. I am new to overclocking and wanted to get some insight from the pros here. I am putting together a new gaming machine and would like some suggestions on Overclocking. I have listed my current build specs in my signature. Also looking for links to useful utilities for OCing and reading material to sharpen my skills.

Thanks in advance.

Just wanted to say a quick hello to the forum. I am new to overclocking and wanted to get some insight from the pros here. I am putting together a new gaming machine and would like some suggestions on Overclocking. I have listed my current build specs in my signature. Also looking for links to useful utilities for OCing and reading material to sharpen my skills.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome...Im a new guy around here myself.

Some good overclocking tools are:

Just search google for these and the download link is easy to find

CPUz- Gives you lots of info on current Fsb speed, cpu speed, voltages, system info, memory timings etc.

GPUz - pretty close to cpuz but for your graphics card

Realtemp - gives temps for core 2 duos...most accurate for penryns I have seen to date.

Coretemp - more temps for core 2 duos

3dmark06 - gives you a score of your computer, i wouldnt call it a stress test more of a benchmarking tool

Orthos - this is a stability tester, it runs your system straight out to test it. I usually run two instances of this, one for each core for about 10-12 hours to make sure a system is stable. Others will tell you to run longer or shorter just depends on what you live with.

Super pi - I dont have much experience with this one

Prime95 - Like orthos I think there based off each other??? please correct me if Im wrong

Rivatuner - Helps overclock your video card, adjust fan settings, I use the gpu temp option so when im playing games it shows gpu temp in the upper left hand corner.