AMD Mid-Range Revised

mattrock

Hello again everyone, thanks to everyone who gave advice on the previous rig!! its greatly appreciated.

Ok sooo i'm trying to figure out now what my best option is...do i:

1) spend some more money on a mobo that allows x16 x16 instead of x16 x4 (im not sure if i have a mobo that is x16 x4 and i buy another 6870 card in the future if its going to hinder the preformance like crazy of the second card and it not be worth it rather than if i had a x16 x16; i'm still new to this aspect)

2) or if i should get a gigabyte 6950; keep the current mobo and cut back the PSU to the 650 watt edition to save a lil money (money's a big issue im a broke college kid) and just not buy another card in the future all together until i buy a whole new rig in like 3-5 years

I'm basically looking to get out of my rig;

1)Gaming on the highest settings

2) Playing movies on a 46 lcd tv in 1080p as well as video games sometimes without it looking like crap

3) stream football on sundays!! 8)

After some consideration i've updated my future rig to this...

Fx-4100/Corsair 4GB Combo

ASUS MOBO

Video Card AMD 6870

Case

PSU Corsair 750watt

HDD

Extra Fans

DVD Burner

artic 5 thermal paste

Thanks again for any input its greatly appreciated!!

See this regarding 16x/4x scaling. Doesn't look too bad. In any case if this is all new I'd suggest waiting for the 7000 series to come out, which should be pretty soon.

I haven't seen your other thread so don't know exactly what you're after and won't comment too much. CPU choice looks a little suspect, but I haven't seen enough of that particular CPU to judge.

Hi mate. Just a few comments.

RAM: