1st post, 2nd build ever.

Guest OverclockNoob

Guest OverclockNoob

Hello 1st post on here, I've been lurking for a few days around the web trying to get schooled on the new techs. :)

I'm current running a Athlon x2 3800+ (non oc'ed but was for a while) 9800gt, on a Abit Mobo (I think it was called th7 or something :P can't rem), random generic 7200 rpm HD after my raptor died. It was a good system 3 years ago, and has served me well, but it is time to retire this beast. I'm a noob OC'er and like to keep things simple. That is why I got so excited reading about sandy bridge, it sounds like all it will take to oc this is a bios tweak or 2?

I'm currently looking at buying the following after almost buying a 950 1366 piece the day before Sandy Bridge. :P

SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW Matte black 0.8mm Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

ASUS P8P67 PRO LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I72600K (hoping for 4.3-4.5 with this cooler, with easy bios oc?)

OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) x2 (In raid 0. I do realize that new sandforce controller is coming soon, but i'll wait for it to mature I think.)

EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card (overclocking done for me)

8GB 2133MHz DDR3 (CL9-11-9-27) DIMM @ 1.65v (Kit of 4) XMP with fan, KHX2133C9AD3T1FK4/8GX (hoping for simple bios oc to 2133? :))

CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-850HX 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler

ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM (install drive)

LITE-ON Black 12X Blu-ray Burner with Blu-ray 3D feature SATA Model iHBS112 - OEM (burning drive)

Samsung P2450H 24" 1920X1080 2ms RoseBlack