Help OC'n i3-540 & Gskill DDR3-1600

Hi all, I'm new to overclocking intel chips through the bios and have always had AMD chips. I'm trying to get my RAM to run DDR3-1600 speeds.

Mobo: Biostar TH55 HD

Memory: Gskill 4G (2x2G) DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24

CPU: i3-540 (133x23)

In the bios I can't figure out the settings. This is what I have set for 1600 speeds for the Memory and it doesn't boot.

CPU RATIO = 20

BCLK = 160

QPI = Auto

DRAM frq = 1600

Timings:

tCL=9

tRCD=9

tRP=9

tRAS=24

tWR=10

tWTR=5

tRTP=5

tRFC=40

tFAW=20

CR=2T

DRAM read latency = Auto

DRAM Write Latency = Auto

Intel Speedstep = Disabled

C1E Support = Disabled

Intel Virtualization = Disabled

Voltages:

Vcore = Auto

VTT = 1.21

PLL = Auto

DRAM = 1.645

PCH = 1.10

IGD = Auto

I also need to understand the FSB:Ratio's. I'm assuming to go 1:1 I set the DRAM Freq to 1600 for 1:1 (options are AUTO, 960, 1280, 1600)

Anyone toss out some opinions? I can run the software OC utility and it puts the CPU around 3500mhz. I think I don't understand the FSB ratio or QPI stuff.

Take cpu vcore off of "Auto" and manually set to 1.275v

Manually set VTT to 1.25v

Regarding specific settings for the memory timings - manually set the four primary timings (i.e. 9-9-9-24) and put every other memory setting on Auto.

Edited by wevsspot

Take cpu vcore off of "Auto" and manually set to 1.275v

Manually set VTT to 1.25v

Regarding specific settings for the memory timings - manually set the four primary timings (i.e. 9-9-9-24) and put every other memory setting on Auto.

thanks for the feedback. I'm currently hitting high temps of 62c under prime95. I've found a good stable point without pushing up the voltages too much. I believe the VTT is currently at 1.2, would you recommend to increase the volts more or only until there is instability?

Doesn't the VTT increase CPU heat and if so, how would you tell if the VTT voltage is too low versus possibly the CPU voltage or RAM voltage being the problem?