Memory Oc Difficulties

Dexter

Hello,

I just built my first machine and it runs fine (booted up on a first try), but I have a problem with my ram. I do not know how to overclock it to 1066. RAM is corsair dominator 2x 2gb ddr2 1066 (pc2 8500), but when I look at it in BIOS it shows that it runs at 800. I did some research, but I can't really find a decent guide on where to go in the BIOS. People say to change FSB to 400 (1600 mhz and drop multiplier) and voltage to 2.1 to get memory going at 5-5-5-15 @1066. However that is not much help if I do not know where to go and how to do it. I do not want to experiment and do something stupid. I have never done this before. Also, I have a stock cooler on my CPU and it runs at 39 - 45 C idle. I am not really sure but it seems a bit too high to me. I did not OC CPU since I do not know how to do it anyway. Should I get a different cooler? Any help is appreciated, especially with the memory. I want to get the most out of it. My motherboard it MSI p35 neo 2. Thank you.

as u have changed ur fsb from 266? to 333 u have also oc'ed ur processor. in the 1st pic that u posted it says "adjusted cpu frequency" that is the new speed of ur processor & probably the reason the PC won't boot. to keep ur ram running @ that speed u may have 2 change the "CPU Multiplier". i can see from ur pics that it is currently 9.5. not sure where it is in ur bios. also which processor do u have? is it Core 2 extreme?

as u have changed ur fsb from 266? to 333 u have also oc'ed ur processor. in the 1st pic that u posted it says "adjusted cpu frequency" that is the new speed of ur processor & probably the reason the PC won't boot. to keep ur ram running @ that speed u may have 2 change the "CPU Multiplier". i can see from ur pics that it is currently 9.5. not sure where it is in ur bios. also which processor do u have? is it Core 2 extreme?