Few Issues With New Build

Ok, just got through putting together my new rig last night. You can see the system specs in my signature. Hand picked all parts based on price/performance.

To give a little background, I have been building computers for many years now but dropped out of it for a little bit a couple of years ago. Not much upgrading in that time. As we all know, the computer field constantly changes so I am finding myself trying to catch up to the current hardware trends and terminology. I have always been an avid tweaker though and thus why I am here.

Being out of it quite a while, when I booted up the computer for the first time the BIOS had tons of settings I was not familiar with. Definately not a board for a newbie that is for sure! The first thing I did, which maybe I shouldn't have, was flash the BIOS to 704 using the neat booting CD I got from here. I fumbled around for the settings that I knew for certain and tried to optimize the best I could. I had read in reviews at Newegg that my memory is able to go 2/2/2/5/1t and since it uses BH5 chips it would like lots of voltage. I set the voltage at 2.8v and set all the memory timings (using the settings in my sig). I left the CPU at stock which is 10x multiplier by 200 bus. Quite frankly I am still a bit perplexed by the settings right below them. I know they deal with setting up the HTT bus speeds and such but didn't want to mess with them just yet. My primary concern was to get the system stable first before I start overclocking and playing with other settings. At any rate, it ran the memtest fine with the new timings and voltage so I felt safe enough to install the WinXP Pro SP2 on the box.