Making PDFs smaller

kingdingeling

As an old-timer on this forum, I should know this kind of stuff, but being a software noob, I don't! :teehee:

Anyways, I'm currently applying to a jobs online and the muppets at BMW and Porsche Consulting only allow me to upload a maximum of 4MB worth of PDFs. Now I have done a few things with my life since school, so I have a few letters and certificates that I want to upload for them to have a look at, however together they come to somewhere around 6MBs. I have tried to fiddle with PDFCreator to make them smaller, but the quality is suffering tenfold for each minimal decrease in size.

I was wondering of you guys know some nifty little program that could make PDFs smaller without damaging quality too much, or a program that can put two pages onto one page of a PDF? Like printing 2 pages on one, but for PDFs?

Thanks a lot!

I put together a 93-page document last semester, which included images, and it was only 2MB. I have PDFs of textbooks that are less than 4MB. What the hell are you putting together?!?!

I use Acrobat X Pro. You can download a 30-day trial of one of the CS suites if you want to give it a shot and see if that has better compression.

Ok I'll try that tomorrow, it's a bit late tonight for me to be fiddling effectively with that stuff... I mainly have scanned documents, meaning they're essentially pictures and therefore huge. My mum doesn't know how to properly work our scanner, therefore she's scanned the lot as images and I am not anywhere close to home to be doing it myself, as I am in Santiago de Chile right now...

Ok I'll try that tomorrow, it's a bit late tonight for me to be fiddling effectively with that stuff... I mainly have scanned documents, meaning they're essentially pictures and therefore huge. My mum doesn't know how to properly work our scanner, therefore she's scanned the lot as images and I am not anywhere close to home to be doing it myself, as I am in Santiago de Chile right now...