Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Asus A8n 32-sli-deluxe; 1 Long Beep And 2 Short Beeps On Startup


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#13 Officer_Dufus

Officer_Dufus

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 26 September 2008 - 04:15 AM

Yeah, I had the fans totally out of the equation and nothing changed.

One wierd thing is that the video card fan and processor fans appeared to be spinning at a normal rate. I'm not sure why that is, but the case fans were for sure being starved of power. Also the power supply fans were spinning. Not sure about their rate but they were spinning, at least the power supply exhaust fan at the rear of the case was spinning.

How can I check what amps the power supply is putting out? Did those voltages seem to be within the spec range?

PS I was totally suprised to see that the Compaq had a PCI-E slot...nobody else I know has PCI-E (well, one of my other friend's comes to mind....but I his HP has a warranty that I believe would be become void if the case was opened, so that was out of the question)

#14 fmc_boss

fmc_boss

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:43 PM

I'm no PSU guru, but it sounds like the 5v rail has failed.
I'm guessing your case fans are getting power from the 5v (red) wire.
E8400 / UD3 P45 R / 4Gb G.S. Pi / 5770 / EAW 430

#15 Officer_Dufus

Officer_Dufus

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 26 September 2008 - 10:23 PM

Disregard my statement about the fans.

It appears my adjustable fan controller went bad and was not providing enough power to the fans regardless of how it was adjusted. I tested each fan straight to the power supply and it was then spinning as fast as it should be. Bah, I guess we're back to a (most likely) motherboard problem.....

#16 Jhester

Jhester

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 September 2008 - 11:31 PM

I actually had the same problem with the same motherboard and it is very common for that board to fail. I suggest a new Mobo here, but I wanted to test everything to make sure.

Edited by Jhester, 26 September 2008 - 11:31 PM.

Stay awhile and listen.


#17 dat93

dat93

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 27 September 2008 - 03:31 AM

just going to throw something in the field here, check your mobo battery, how long have you had that mobo for?
«And on the eighth day, god created cod4.»

#18 Officer_Dufus

Officer_Dufus

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 27 September 2008 - 01:29 PM

Motherboard battery appears to be fine. How long is the motherboard on this Asus board?

I bought it and built my system in February 2007 and have been using it since.

#19 fmc_boss

fmc_boss

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 27 September 2008 - 02:19 PM

OK - we're pretty sure that the PSU is OK, & we 'think' the GFX gard is OK.

Did you get around to trying the GFX card in the 2nd slot?

CMOS battery is a possibility, at least it's cheap to replace.


It would be nice to try a known good GFX card in the MoBo prior to writing it off.
E8400 / UD3 P45 R / 4Gb G.S. Pi / 5770 / EAW 430

#20 papaike

papaike

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 September 2008 - 03:56 PM

Bump, still stumped.

The Asus users guide for that motherboard shows that beep code to be no memory detected.
Call asus at 1-812-282-2787, and ask for a rma.

#21 fmc_boss

fmc_boss

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 27 September 2008 - 04:27 PM

The Asus users guide for that motherboard shows that beep code to be no memory detected.
Call asus at 1-812-282-2787, and ask for a rma.


If the MoBo manual says that, then go with it - I was going off standard Award beep codes.

Don't know about an RMA for something purchased in Feb 07', though :)
E8400 / UD3 P45 R / 4Gb G.S. Pi / 5770 / EAW 430

#22 hardnrg

hardnrg

    Overclocking the i7... finally

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:20 PM

have you tried the x1950 in the 2nd PCI-E slot? my DFI NF4 Ultra-D (SLI-D) is currently a pain in the arse to get booted because of conformal coating seepage into the PCI-E x16 slots... and I get one long, two short beeps, no display, fans running... I can get it running if I really mess around with the graphics card insertion/mounting though... I need to get some industrial solvent to clean it (that doesn't melt the plastic)

does the Asus board have an LED diagnostic on it? all the MSI and DFI boards I've owned had a four LED diagnostic which can help sometimes (not all the time lol)

( How To Ask A Question ) · ( [email protected] Sigpics ) · ( Rules ) · ( USB Bootdrive ) · ( Modding & Computer Stores ) · ( OCC facebook.png )
i7 920 D0 @ 21x196=4116, HT on · D-Tek Fuzion v1 · 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-10666 @ DDR1176, 8-8-8-22-1T
BFG/XFX GTX260 Maxcore SLI @ 756/1512/1188 (Swiftech MCW60-R + Swiftech GTX200) · Asus P6T Deluxe V2
X-Fi XtremeMusic (Hotrodded) · PCP&C Silencer 750

Athlon II X4 635 @ 2900 · 2x 2GB PC2-6400 · HD5550 1GB · Asus M4A77D · Antec Neopower 480

EeePC 1000H @ 12x164=1965 · 1x 2GB Corsair VS PC2-5300 · Gigabyte Aircruiser N300 GN-WI06N

 


#23 Officer_Dufus

Officer_Dufus

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 28 September 2008 - 05:21 PM

Just a moment ago I tried the X1950 in the second PCI-E slot.....no change in anything. No harddrives connected either, but still I'm getting no display and the same beep sequence. This ASUS board does not have any diagnostic lights, just a green LED towards the bottom left hand corner/tip of the motherboard.

I also checked all of the power connections to the motherboard itself.

#24 Officer_Dufus

Officer_Dufus

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 29 September 2008 - 10:13 AM

Just got off of the phone with the RMA center for ASUS. Have to send in my board to their repair facility (which is luckily in my State considering it is the only repair facility they have in the US according to the RMA person I spoke to)

They can't do an advanced RMA because they don't have a surplus of these boards. But they will either repair it or if it cannot be repaired they will send me a brand new motherboard.

So perhaps tonight I'll start the full teardown and get it shipped as soon as I can.

Do any of you have any recommendation for how to store the processor while the motherboard is off to the repair facility?

Thanks :)