Vsftpd On Linux - Need Some Help

khel

Is it possible to make the following....

I have ftp server (vsftpd) with one generic (guest) user account (auth. is done with pam). Needed:

home/ftpsite (ex.) - user can only list and download

home/ftpsite/incoming - user can create/delete/upload/download files

Any help from unix gurus is appreciated :-)

Okay so nobody else wants to take a crack at this. I'm familiar with several flavors of Unix including Linux and I've been a system administrator for several operating systems since 1987 so here goes.

First I want to say that vsftpd is freeware availble at the following URL:

http://vsftpd.beasts.org/

Documentation is available at:

ftp://vsftpd.beasts.org/users/cevans/unta...-1.1.3/EXAMPLE/

I spent a couple of hours cruising the documentation. It looks like this product is a good choice for adding an FTP server daemon to a Unix box. The documentation talks about how the product was designed and how the creator handled common security issues. Anyone that writes software should read this documentation.

If you've already installed the software then the following information should get you going. There are three steps involved in setting up the environment. The first step is to set up the unique user account that will own the ftp directories. The next step is to set up the ftp directories. The third step is to set up the vsftpd configuration files. The vsftpd software is going to do a lot of other stuff that a Unix system administrator would normally do such as creating an environment for the ftp anonymous access that has restricted visibility to the system's files.