Help on overclocking an i7-930

Hi guys,

I just bought a new gaming PC and wanted to start on some overclocking but I'm a complete noob at it. Please have mercy on me because I've read a few OC guides online and still lost on what to do on the BIOS. My specs are:

++ i7-930 @ 2.80Ghz

++ Asus Rampage II Gene

++ Patriot Gamer 6GB DDR3 1600 Kit

++ Gigabyte 1GB ATI Radeon HD 5850

++ Antec 900 (2 x 12mm for intake + 1 x 12mm & 1 x 14mm for outake)

++ Seasonic X-750 Gold

++ Stock CPU fans only ><

At idle, RealTemp says my cores are at 35-36C.

I'm wondering if anyone can help me out with changes in the BIOS. Everything is currently running at stock levels except for the RAM which I've up-ed to 1600 instead of the stock 1333.

Where should I start changing? Any suggestions on good quality cooling?

Once again, I'm a noob at this. I'm sure everyone started as a noob too...I just need a push in the right direction. Have mercy...

Thankyou.

Welcome to the club!

Before you start overclocking you should get an aftermarket cooler. You may be able to go to about 3.0-3.2 without temps going to high but those stock coolers are junk so its not recommended. Also you should run a stress test with everything at stock to make sure everything is working right to start with and see what kind of temps you have now. Use something like intelburntest or OCCT to stress the cpu.

Hello and welcome to the community,

Before you try any overclock, I suggest that you buy a good CPU aftermarket cooler. I am using a Corsair H50 and so far I am very pleased with the results, it is easy to mount, gives you space and its weight won’t harm you motherboard. I am using it in push / pull exhaust configuration and it keeps all my cores below 70 ° C running at 4.01 GHz. Currently I am running my CPU at 3.8 GHz and my cores stay below 63 ° C.

I recommend any of these coolers:

-Noctua D14 My link

-Corsair H50 My link

-ThermalrightU120 My link