Strange overclocking results

Arachnae

Here's the basic rundown, I'm new to overclocking, but generally when I want to do somethign I read up on it, understand it and have no problems... but this has left me perplexed.

Here's my setup:

intel core i7 920

Asus P6T SE motherboard

6 GB corsair triple channel 1600Mhz 1.65V certified DDR3

Sapphire HD4870 Vapor-X 1GB GDDR5.

Antec 900 case

corsair 650W PSU

Basically, I've been running 3dmark 05 to check out my settings and just have a little play around. I'm running windows 7 professional beta, all drivers, firmwares and my bios is up to date.

My 4870 is currently overclocked using the latest version of RivaTuner from 500Mhz GPU, 900Mhz memory to 806 Mhz GPU, 1101MhZ memory.

This tests fine under scrutiny.

I have gone into the bios and set my RAM to 1600Mhz since it appeared to be running at a lower frequency before, while leaving my CPU at pretty much standard settings for now except for turbo mode, stepping and C1E which are disabled.

Worryingly though, my system only manages to score 14733 with the 4870 OC'd right now, when the sample that is given states something with my setup should be capable of 15100.. im not sure whether the sample is stock speed or OC'd though. If the sample is stock, and im achieving less while OC'd, something must be misconfigured, no?

Now to the really odd stuff... when I attempted to OC my cpu, I set it to 140 BCLK and a multiplier of 21, which if im understanding properly should push me from 2.67Ghz up to just under 3Ghz.. however with this configuration, my score goes down to under 12000.

Any ideas what could be causing these seemingly low/erratic results?

3d Mark at stock gives a result of 14015.