Overclocking i7 w/ Gigabyte UD4P

Hey guys, so i just completed my first build a few days ago, and am really looking to overclock a bit

system is as follows

HAF 932

INTEL I7 d0 stepping

gigabyte ud4p

ocz platinum 7-7-7-19 atm

evga gtx 275

scythe mugen 2 cpu cooler

after running my first prime 95, i peaked out at temps right around 54 or so, this is stock, which i thought was pretty good

now i used the gigabyte easy tune controls to overclock to 2.9 ghz and ran prime and got about 59

i am wondering if anyone can help me with overclock settings, exactly what to put where, i am looking to achieve around 3.6-3.8

someone had told me gigabyte provides a pdf file explaining how to get to 4.0, but i have not been able to find this anywhere

any help would be really great, this is my first overclock, so i am very very new to all of this

Hey,

welcome to OCC!

The guide you were told about is right over here:

http://lakesidepc.com/Core.i7.920.oc.4G.2008.12.12_ENG.pdf

It is a bit different, but for 3.6-3.8 you will really just need to decrease the bclk.

Also, for 3.6-3.8, stock cooling may be a little too close, you might want to get an after-market cooler.

If after checking the guide out you still have questions, feel free to PM.

Good luck!

The things to look at would be the bclock setting, the CPU volts, the QPI volts and the IOH volts.

For 3.6 you need about a 180bclock you should be able to get there with a small bump in the QPI/vtt voltage, the ioh voltage and a small bump to the CPU voltage. You already have aftermarket cooling so that is a start. Just as a reference my DO chip needs 1.30 volts to be prime stable at 4.0 and 1.36 for 4.14. Temperatures on air were a maximum of 77C in a 80F room.

The things to look at would be the bclock setting, the CPU volts, the QPI volts and the IOH volts.