Having Problems With Overclocking An E8400

elysium

hello, this is my first time posting on occ. i hope you guys can help me out with a problem i'm having.

specs:

cpu - e8400 e0 revision w/ arctic cooler 7 cpu fan

mobo - evga nvidia 750i ftw

memory - ocz reaper 2x2gig pc8500 1066

video card - evga geforce gtx 260 216 core superclocked

ok so in the bios, i unlinked the fsb & memory speeds and i made fsb 1600 at X9 cpu multiplier to get my cpu freq to 3600 mhz. my ram initially runs @ 800 so i made it 1066 with timings of 5-5-5-18.

that's what's listed on newegg for the timings.

i changed the voltages to:

cpu core 1.275v [ default 1.25v ]

cpu fsb 1.15v [ default 1.10v ]

memory 2.1v [ default 1.9v ]

nforce spp 1.4v [ default 1.30v ]

nf200 1.25v [ default 1.2v ]

it ran stable for 8 hrs with orthos. ran stable with occt for 1 hr.

so the problem is this...

my bios / system properties in windows says my cpu is @ 3.6ghz.. however my CPU-Z and OCCT tell me that my cpu clock is @ 3.0 ghz still.. also my CPU-Z says my ram timings are @ 5-5-5-15 444 mhz instead of 5-5-5-18 553 mhz [ which it should be ]

even at full load with c1e and speedstep disabled in bios... my cpu-z cpu clock does not go to 3.6 ghz. in realtemp however, it lists my cpu speed @ 3.6 ghz for around 5 seconds then goes down to 3.0 ghz.

i have no idea what is going on. please help!

i've tried many things, and no matter what i do it just doesn't work.

also initially i tried to get the cpu to 3.825 ghz but whenever my windows boots up, 10 seconds in my computer freezes.

ugh i'm just overall an overclocking noob. this is my first attempt at it with this brand new machine and i just can't seem to get it to work no matter how many guides i read and etc.

Edited by elysium

the cpuz problem you are running into is due to the fact that you still have all of your cpu features enabled...

22_thumb.jpg