New Build.....in the future

Guest Neezer_merged

Guest Neezer

Hi,

I am relatively new to the site. I am going to graduate from college shortly, and with a job and money in sight....6 months or so, I am looking into making a beast of a computer that I can overclock. I have never built my own computer before, but i have made repairs,(new mobo, add graphics card, add RAM) to mine. I am wondering if DFI is coming out with anything that will drastically change all of the stuff I am learning about now. Also, I have heard that DDR2 might be coming in the near future to AMD processors. Is this something that I will have available to me in the 6-8 month timeframe?

Thanks

Yes, AMD is coming out with a new socket platform called "AM2" which will use DDR2 instead of the DDR that we're all still using with the current sockets. Just wait and be patient because you might even need to get the new INTEL since they are smoking AMD so far with Gaming/Applications everything. The Conroe which is the new Dual Core coming out from Intel soon which is going to destroy anything in sight unless AMD comes up with something better in their AM2 since it's just for power consumption and newer intergrated DDR2. Stick with DFI motherboards though since they have the best components to overclock and stabilities. Take care.....

Guest Neezer

So I should look into getting an intel with a DFI mobo???? I was under the impression that they didn't have the right socket?? or is that just wrong?