is CH5 memory pants?

ive currently got the corsair ram thats in my sig running at stock. but im after getting over 2ghz from my cpu but i cant get the fsb any higher than 220 as the system is then unstable it doesnt even run superPI. and games dont run for very long.

so im looking for anyone else with this sort of ram to see if theyve got better speeds and how

:)

im also pretty new to AMD64 overclocking so any pointers would be great

cheers

just the default volts as ive read the opposite, that they dont like anymore volts than 2.6-2.7.

this is one area of overclocking that ive not done before, is there anything to remember when changing volts?

:)

Your thinking of TCCD. Winbond ram like BH-5, CH-5 and UTT BH-5 & CH-5 like volts.

When giving them really high volts you need to get some active cooling on your ram sticks(a fan blowing directly on them). Personally i like to use active cooling on anything over 3v, which would be even more important if you have high case temps.

I'd start off with 2.9v, you should be fine at that voltage,(i used to run my ram at 2.9v with no active cooling at all), then see how far you can go with that voltage taking it higher slowly, doing thorough testing with memtest86.

right so, if i up the ram temperature to 2.9 and dont go beyond that you reckon the heat should be about right without putting a fan on it?

i take it theres no chance of the ram popping or anything is there the higher up i go?

You should be fine with 2.9v on CH-5 :)

I've used 2.9v on all different memory without any problems.

The higher up mhz you mean? No. Obviously you have to be wary when taking the volts higher(too much voltage kills yes...). I take my BH-5 upto 3.3v with a fan on them. Theres ppl here using UTT Winbond who use even higher...