Is This A Good Overclock?

MagnaX

Hi all,

This is my first post so I want to see if it'll be a good one or not.

I'm also new to overclocking. Let me know if this is a good overdrive or not.

First, my system:

Gigabyte GA-7ZXE MoBo (VIA KT133A chipset)

AMD Athlon XP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C

1.5 GHz PC133 RAM (Kingston)

Ati (Sapphire) Radeon 7500 64MB DDR AGP

Antec 420W PSU

SLK-800 w/Tt SF 2 mounted

4 120mm system fans. (2 intake, 2 exhaust)

Now, my overclock experience. (I did a lot of reading before hand)

Because my MoBo is "older", it only allows up to PC133 RAM and the BIOS only let's you change the FSB. No voltages or anything.

I have my FSB set to 171. If I go to 172, the PC won't boot. Of course, the multiplier on the 1700 is stock at 11. (The chip is unlocked, but I can't change it via the BIOS). My Vcore is currently running at 1.64V.

My idle system temps are ~29-33C and at load they are ~33-35C

My idle CPU temps are ~30-32C and at load they are ~34-38C

My full overclock is 1.8GHz (11x171)

Is this good for this chip/system config?

Thanks!

well - for that mobo - its the best you can do without buying anything or messing around with pin config (on the CPU) so yeah I guess its good - if u really want to get into OCing though id upgrade your system to at least better ram and better mobo (the ASUS A7N8X has a lot of good features but epox is the best OCer)

I'm thinking about get an Abit KD7. I can pick one up for $35 shipped. Would that be a good board as an upgrade? I eventually would like to get an Epox 8RDA, but until then I have to settle with what I can afford. My friend has a 512 stick of (unknown brand) PC3700 RAM. Would that be a decent choice to upgrade to also?