Memtest won't pass test #8

Hi guys

I know this has probably been answered elsewhere in the forums, but I can't find an exact soluiton for my system.

System as shown in sig. All bios settings default except memory timings of 2,2,2,5 and Dram V 2.7.

Memtest ran 1st with Dram V at 2.6 (default) got 50000 errors in one pass of test #8. All other tests pass.

Upped Dram V to 2.7v ran memtest got 2000 errors. Getting better at least.

System seems stable in windows, not really BSOD since i flashed Bios to 310.

If 1 run memtest with either Dimm in Slot 2 on its own, the test passes fine. Should i RMA the memory, or will I be able to stabilise this board.

Any help would be appreciated as i'm new to Bios modifications. Normally just run stock everything.

Built the rig below so I could get into OC, as all components supposed to be good for OC. Seems a bit daft that it wont pass when not OC.

:D

generally for my XL, symtoms differ from bios to bios...

memtest #8 errors because vdimm not sufficient...

memtest #8 errors because vdimm too much...=> heat causing errors

not contradicting as it depends on which bios version u used...

not in XLPT anymore so can't show u a a64 tweak shot...

dram drive strength 7...data drive strength 2..then play w vdimm from there..

u should be able to get to #8 stable w no errors atleast 5 pass before check for stability in windows..

or its best that u show a A64 tweaker shot for help...bios default differs from some version so difficult to remember...

Thanks guys I'll have a look at those things.

I will install A64 Tweaker and post a pic.

I'll check the Bios Genie to make sure my timings are correct. Bit confused though cos on Overclockers the timings were advertised as 2 2 2 5, but now they say 2 2 5 2.

I need to figure out which ones are which.