Sign in to follow this  
catkicker

So you want to OC your rig.

About 8 months ago I got the courage up to build my first computer. My experience was adding a stick of mem. and a video card to our old P4 1.70Ghz store bought. So I read alot and took notes and started a list of componets to use, I wanted to build a rig that would be a great gaming rig with performance increase capabilities. It went great enjoyed my first build and was quite proud of myself. Then being a absolute nOOb to computers I heard of this term "overclocking" and asked around and read about it. My Gigabyte K8NS Pro MB offered some OCing options, but cooling was a issue, so here we go again, no nothing about WC'ing so read up on WC'ing ordered some Dangerden and swiftech parts and now I have a WC'ing system ready to go

then to my dismay I find out my MB has VERY limited OC'ing abilities without some V mods, Soldering iron "dont think so" :eek: So here I go again 8 month old MB and I'm ordering another MB. So now I have my new MB and its sweet install goes great no problems setting it up with my sata raid0 config. After some tortureous moments. WC'ing is up and running WC'ing blocks on CPU,GPU, Chipset. I get out my notes and calculator I get memtest, prime 95 ,A64 Tweaker Nvidia Clock gen, and a bunch of other programs for testing stability. I'm ready let the OC'ing ritual begin. Hit 2.4Ghz

easy stable no prob. I start changing multis and and trying other things and there seems to be a PROBLEM! Any guesses? Now it couldnt be my high dollar Gig.of PC 4000 Buffalo Firestick mem Na! Guy said it was hot stuff great performer. Well after doing some reasearch, yes Buffalo firestick mem is a top performer in OC'ing performance, just one problem here its a top performer for Intel not AMD.