WiFi Help

king of nothing

My friend has an aging iMac and she just bought a new Toshiba laptop and Netgear WGR614 wireless router. She asked me to help her get it all hooked up to her cable modem. I thought.... well, I've never used WiFi, I haven't touched a Mac in ages, and I have limited experience with routers..... but hey... how hard can it be.

And well.... now I'm here asking for advice.

So here's what I did. I turned the iMac off. Plugged the router in. Connected the Mac to the router via network cable. Turned the iMac on. Netgear setup came up and seemed to find everything okay. I was a little worried because her ISP logs nic mac addresses and you have to call them if you changed nic's. But apparently the router took care of that and I was able to get online. I went to google and a couple other sites and it seemed to be working okay. In retrospect, I probably should have done a more thorough test.

With that working I went to the laptop. Turned it on and flipped the little switch in front that makes the WiFi work. It immediately found the router (strong signal) and I was able to get online. I thought.... that was easy.

Then I tried to register her copy of MS Office for her. Well... it couldn't find the Microsoft registration page. I tried a couple of times and thought it must be down or something. Then I went to download Firefox... and it couldn't find the site. Went to google.... worked fine. Dfi-street... fine. Microsoft.com.... fine. Tried registering office again..... can't find it. I tried a bunch of different sites..... some worked, some didn't. Weird.

Well... sitting in her living room... I also get a faint signal from some neighbor with WiFi. Hook up to it and everything is fine.

I go back to screwing around with her setup and eventually get to where I can't get online at all.... from the laptop or the iMac. Grrrrr. Neighbor's still works fine.