How to add single SATA drive as storage?

Hi, Im new to DFI. switch from Asus, I have a 36gb raptor sata that contain valuable data that can't be loss. but since last MB broke and upgraded to DFI, I install XP on a IDE drive first without loading any sata drivers(F6) during installation. now i need to add the sata drive as storage to backup my data, then reformat the raptor and fresh install xp again.

so how do i install the raptor with XP currently installed in a IDE drive?

after i done backup, what to do to make sure the raptor will work alone when doing fresh xp install?

thanks alot

spec:

a64 3000+

dfi lp ut 250gb

2x256 buffalo pc3200

9800pro

36gb raptor sata

160gb maxtor ide

x-connect 500w ps

just install the raptor with the ide drive as the boot drive. if it shows up in windows transfer your data then erase. then power down remove the ide drive and set the raptor as boot drive and load windows. assuming you have xp with sp1 or sp2 slipstreamed with it. do you want the data from the ide drive on it later? now I am confused?

i dont need the IDE drive data. just need stuff on raptor, but i tried just hook up the raptor and boot with IDE, xp detects the raptor but wont install the drive, looks like xp want me to format the raptor first or install some kind of driver, which is not what i want to do.

other advise?

hacgumyu , it is not wanting a driver so get that understood. You are not dealing with raid on the board so there needs to be no raid driver. A little background so you can 'quit' thinking in the past and come to present on the NF3 chipset. Nvidia pulled a really unique setup as they make SATA drives appear to WinXP and Win2K as "just" any old PATA drive in practice. So without using an array in raid ( your aren't ) there is no need of a driver.