Need some advise before flashing.....

Guest twilight_merged

Guest twilight

I am about to flash my NFII infinity ultra rev A mobo and feel that i could need some advise so i know im doing it correctly. Im a total newbee in this area.

this is my situation:

1. have recently flashed to bios N24ID619 using awdflash, so thats my current bios. (everything went well)

2. have DL´d bios N24ID121 beta and thinking of flashing my bios with that.

3. When i DL´the official N24ID619 bios from DFI i got a package with awdflash and a text file that contained the command line for the flash procedure ( AWDFLASH N24ID619.BIN /F/QI/CC/Sn/Py ), but i only got the .bin file for N24ID121 beta so i dont know what command line i should use.

So....my question is: can i flash my mobo from the current bios to the N24ID121 beta using the same awdflash and the command line (awdflash N24ID619.bin /py /sn /cc /cd /cp /LD /f /tiny /E) or should it be domething else?

I have read elts_drac´s flash faq, its from there i got the info on switch codes, but i would feel better if someone experienced could give me a Go!! or STOP!!! :)

Regards Twilight.

Hi !! and welcome to DFI-street :)

The 6/19 bios is generally good and many issues have been resolved or minimised by it.

So, the question should be, why do you want to flash ?? Are there issues you feel can be solved by an older or beta bios??

I still go by the rule that "if it ain't broken, don't fix it", unless of course everyone says it is a much better bios in many aspects.

Good luck.......

:) twilight, welcome aboard.

Now to the serious stuff. 6/19 is a fine bios. Don't know of the BETA bios you are looking at or what it does. What makes you think to flash to a beta when you admit yourself that you are unsure of what to do? Beta is for those with a safety net of a bios savior or another pre-flashed spare bios chip to get the board to boot in case of problems.