What's Next?

Guest pastryrocks_merged

Guest pastryrocks

Well I suppose at some point I would be asking these questions. First off, this is my first time overclocking a computer, had done my poor video card with other system.

Messing with the BIOS is something new for me, my other system had an Intel mobo, no BIOS messing to speak off. Waited as long as possible before I began to crank up the CPU, seems though I have reached an end to the cranking. Here where I am at:

236x14 =3360 GHz (stable)

Vcore @ 1.4

Dimm voltage @ 2.6

Locked the AGP/PCI/ATA @ 66/33/100

Memory Frequency is set to auto (3.0 - 3 - 2 - 8)

Have made it to 3.4GHz (242 FSB) but not stable, games stop playing, can’t even watch a movie anymore. At this speed the computer does not re-boot, it just freezes. According to Motherboard Monitor, heat is not an issue. At 3.3GHz it took less than 2 hours to reduce a 5Gb movie down to 1Gb, the CPU Temp would not break 47ºc-48ºc and the case temp was 33ºc-34ºc.

Like I said, I very new to this overclocking stuff, so I though I would ask what’s next?

Please be kind with your reply.

Thanks, Pastryrocks

Here’s my system’s:

New System:

Intel P-4 2.8E (Prescott)

DFI Infinity 875P

OCZ PC-3700 Enhanced Bandwidth Platinum Series 2x256Mb

ATi AIW 9600 Pro @ 400 core /324 memory (back to stock until finished with CPU)

Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS

Pioneer DVR-107D (8x DVD-R+/- 4x DVD-RW+/- 24x CD-R/RW)

LG 16x DVD player

Seagate SATA 120Gb 8Mb 7200

Aspire X-Alien metal w/420-watt Turbolink power supply

Vantec Nexus Fan Controller

6x 80mm case fans

Thermaltake Tiger 1 Chipset Cooler

Swiftech MCX478-V with Vantec Tornado 92mm

Vantec IceberQ Copper Cooler with OCZ Copper RAM sinks (VGA Cooling)

OCZ Ultra 5+ compound

hrmmm...your limiting factor might very well be that Prescott cpu...they aren't as strong overclockers as the Northwoods are...

have you upped the AGP voltage? (it controls the agp and NB voltage)