Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Trying To Get My E8400 To 4.0


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 June 2008 - 11:37 AM

Well I finally put in the money and got a new system. I could say the specs are in sig but I haven't updated that yet so they are as follows.

Core2Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0ghz
DFI Lanparty X38 DK
4gb G.Skill DDRII 800
600W OCZ GameXStream
Diamond HD3870

Tried raising the vcore a bit to get it higher which did work but I'm not really sure how far I can push that w/o frying it. Can you guys think of anything I might be missing? I've seen on a couple forums that people have gotten 4.0 on these E8400 Wolfdales so I hope I can too.

Edit: specs now in sig too.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#2 exeter_acres

exeter_acres

    Highly Medicated Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Johns Creek, GA

Posted 24 June 2008 - 11:43 AM

need lots more info on your settings...

what voltages
what speed and settings are you using for the ram

etc. etc. etc

Mine is flying along with no issues (knock on wood)
I'm Back! e8400 (still working on overclock, currently 4.0ghz (W00t)and hasn't broken a sweat) | DFI Blood Iron Board | GeIL 2GB DDR2 800 | eVGA 8800 GT | OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU | Dtek Fuzion Water Block | Laing D5 pump |Homemade rad and res
and plenty of storage!
w00t

Oh yeah..and I switched to Firefox too... ya happy? ;)

#3 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 June 2008 - 11:47 AM

Voltage is around 1.36. Ram is at 400/800 using default settings for ram which appear to be 5-5-5-15 and the ram is at 1.8v. Need anything else? Have gotten it to boot and load up at 4.0 but it freezes and fails in prime95.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#4 exeter_acres

exeter_acres

    Highly Medicated Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Johns Creek, GA

Posted 24 June 2008 - 01:32 PM

raise the ram voltage.... I am not thinking straight....
but your ram divider doesn't seem correct...

I have my ram at 2.0 v
I'm Back! e8400 (still working on overclock, currently 4.0ghz (W00t)and hasn't broken a sweat) | DFI Blood Iron Board | GeIL 2GB DDR2 800 | eVGA 8800 GT | OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU | Dtek Fuzion Water Block | Laing D5 pump |Homemade rad and res
and plenty of storage!
w00t

Oh yeah..and I switched to Firefox too... ya happy? ;)

#5 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 June 2008 - 03:56 PM

So far so good at 4.0 hasn't bosd' or froze for 5 minutes so its more stable than before. Testing with prime 95 now. You think 6hrs is a good length to see if its stable?
Edit: And its not stable after running for 4min. Any idea on how I can get it to be stable. At least its stable enough now to run idle.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#6 exeter_acres

exeter_acres

    Highly Medicated Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Johns Creek, GA

Posted 24 June 2008 - 04:23 PM

what speed is your ram at.... I hate math,,
and what voltage is your ram at
I'm Back! e8400 (still working on overclock, currently 4.0ghz (W00t)and hasn't broken a sweat) | DFI Blood Iron Board | GeIL 2GB DDR2 800 | eVGA 8800 GT | OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU | Dtek Fuzion Water Block | Laing D5 pump |Homemade rad and res
and plenty of storage!
w00t

Oh yeah..and I switched to Firefox too... ya happy? ;)

#7 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 June 2008 - 04:27 PM

Ram voltage is at 2.0 like you suggested. Changed ram speed from 400/800 to 333/667 which makes it run at 891 as opposed to 890 when oced. Timings are still default.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#8 Guest_ajmatson_*

Guest_ajmatson_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 June 2008 - 04:39 PM

Bump your Core Voltage up a bit. I had to set it to 1.45 for my E8500 to get it stable at 4.322MHz. Just cool your Northbridge too and I hope you are not using a stock Intel heatsink. What temps are you getting? Can you post some BIOS screenies because i am not familiar with many DFI boards. Maybe the DIY guys can chime in here :)

#9 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 June 2008 - 04:54 PM

No not using the stock intel heatsink those things are rubbish. Board came with an awesome NB heatsink and I mounted a fan on it so that should be fine. I suppose I can bump the vcore up a bit. I'll see what that does and post some bios screen shots in a bit. As for temps I'm not sure what to trust. Realtemp gets around 53C but Coretemp says 63. The motherboard sensor says 28C.
Edit: Bumped vcore to 1.37. Realtemp now at full load stress testing is at 70C while coretemp is at 80C and MB cpu temp is 60C. I think its stable now its been running for longer this time without failing.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#10 exeter_acres

exeter_acres

    Highly Medicated Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Johns Creek, GA

Posted 24 June 2008 - 05:12 PM

I'm stable at 4.0
with 1.312 vcore.....

Realtemp 48 c both cores....full load
I'm Back! e8400 (still working on overclock, currently 4.0ghz (W00t)and hasn't broken a sweat) | DFI Blood Iron Board | GeIL 2GB DDR2 800 | eVGA 8800 GT | OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU | Dtek Fuzion Water Block | Laing D5 pump |Homemade rad and res
and plenty of storage!
w00t

Oh yeah..and I switched to Firefox too... ya happy? ;)

#11 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 June 2008 - 05:16 PM

I'm stable at 4.0
with 1.312 vcore.....

Realtemp 48 c both cores....full load

Hmm for some reason I need more vcore voltage than you. Hence the higher temps. :/

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#12 Rehit

Rehit

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 813 posts

Posted 24 June 2008 - 05:28 PM

here is a cpuz from my Xeon E3110 (same chip as E8400)
you can get there...
that was at 1.65 volts but i have great air cooling from my dual fan TRUE.
temps do not exceed 60C with all 4 cores under load.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 4.68.jpg

Stacker 830-Coolermaster 1000W PSU-ASUS Maximus Formula-QX6800ES+ Xeon E3110
Ultra 120 Extreme-6GB Dominator PC8500-(2)150 GB Raptors RAID0-Seagate 250GB-HITACHI 1TB
3870X2 1000MB-3870 Toxic 512MB-XP-Pro-Vista 64 Premium

----

ASUS P5Q Pro-E6800 ES -TRUE 120 W/Dual Panaflo 120X38-2x1G Corsair Dominator PC8500 (5-5-5-15-2T)
(2) 74G Raptors RAID0-Radeon HD 3870X2-OCZ GSX700 -Windows XP Pro x86, SP2-Top Deck Tech Station