Davies

Hi everyone.

I've just bought a Q6600 intel CPU...and i've got the following hardware:

Gigabyte GA 965P DS4 Motherboard

Intel Q6600 CPU

2 x 500GB Seagate Hard Drives

Crucial 2 Gb 240 Pin PC2-6400 DDR2 Unbuffered Non-ECC DIMM Memory Module Kit

Akasa PowerMax 850W ATX PSU 2x PCIe 6x SATA

I want to know if its possible with the hardware i have inside my computer to Overclock my CPU? i don't have a heatsink, and would like to avoid spending anymore money lol. Just wondering if its possible and how i do it? I am a newbie to overclocking, but i am good with computers and will pick it up pretty quickly.

thanks

Davies

Edited by Davies

Yo.

It's definately possible... the amount depends on your board and CPU revision, and wether the RAM can match the CPU with decent timings. From what I gather the 965P DS4 is a fairly decent performer... somebody else will be able to tell you how it stacks up against other chipsets though. You'll want to upgrade to a Teir1/2 PSU if you are going to get serious though -

First, read this then this

Download this and post screenshots :)

(and welcome to OCC :P)

Yo.

It's definately possible... the amount depends on your board and CPU revision, and wether the RAM can match the CPU with decent timings. From what I gather the 965P DS4 is a fairly decent performer... somebody else will be able to tell you how it stacks up against other chipsets though. You'll want to upgrade to a Teir1/2 PSU if you are going to get serious though -

First, read this then this

Download this and post screenshots :)

(and welcome to OCC :P)

Thanks for the information, will go through some of that later. And if anyone has got the same motherboard / hardware as myself, then please do let me know if you have had success / problems with overclocking.

cheers

Davies

Um, you don't have a heatsink? If you don't have a heatsink I have some bad news for you. You have to have a heatsink if you don't want to fry your processor.