i r n00b

yoshi02

First of all, I have been lurking around these forums for a while. You guys know what you're talking about and don't hate on the noobs, so here goes...

This is my first time building a PC from scratch. My current POS is under my profile for this site... <_< I have been saving up for quite a while now, and have a few parts picked out. I would like to not exceed $600, and went with AMD because of such a huge price difference. Tell me what you guys think. :D (this setup doesn't include a hard drive, disk drives)

Gigabyte AM2 mobo: link

AMD Athlon 4400+: link

2GB mushkin RAM: link

600-Watt PSU: link

8800GT: link

Case: To be decided

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

first of all, welcome abord :)

Second, may I improve that computer a little bit, staying in the budget guidelines? ;)

E4500 - 128$

A-Data 2x1GB Extreme Edition - 63$ - 15$ MIR = 48$

Gigabyte P31-DS3L - 79$

Antec Earthwatts 430W - 70$

PNY 8800GT - 270$

Grand Total - 595$ :)

The Intel system will be a lot more powerful for the money, but also, it will be a lot easier to overclock if you want to try that out. The PSU is now 430W instead of 600W, but the quality is a LOT better. This PSU will be able to handle the 8800GT and the rest of the system well, but it's not an Ultra. The Ultra X-Connect's have a bad reputation amongst the enthusiast community ;)

first of all, welcome abord :)

Second, may I improve that computer a little bit, staying in the budget guidelines? ;)

E4500 - 128$

A-Data 2x1GB Extreme Edition - 63$ - 15$ MIR = 48$

Gigabyte P31-DS3L - 79$

Antec Earthwatts 430W - 70$

PNY 8800GT - 270$

Grand Total - 595$ :)