Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Proving you don't need a huge PSU to run a Hi-End System


  • Please log in to reply
107 replies to this topic

#97 damian

damian

    Nerd Life

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tx

Posted 04 August 2009 - 05:01 PM

Wish I had a Kill-a-watt to test my rigs.
Although I have had only one power supply for two years now and has been through the following rigs

Rig 1:
AMD 5200
ATI 3850 256mb
2X1GB g.skill ddr2 800
3 fans
250gb seagate 7200.10

Rig 2:
Intel E7200 (overclocked to 4.5Ghz with 1.55V for OC sessions)
ATI 3850 256mb
2X1GB g.skill ddr2 800
250gb seagate 7200.10
5 fans

Rig 3:
Intel Core I7 920 (overclocked to 3.4GHz 1.32V)
GTX 260 (sp216) OC'ed heavily
3X2GB mushkin ram
seagate 250gb 7200.10
seagate 1tb 7200.11
hitachi 500gb
3 fans

Rig 4:
AMD Phenom II X2 550
2X1GB G.Skill ddr2 800
Radeon 4850 512mb
seagate 250gb 7200.10
hitachi 500gb
3 fans
Creative sound card

I think its about time i buy some more ram, dont you think lol

man i love this power supply :) I wonder how many more years she has in her? Thoughts on that Jammin, Paul?


EDIT: woops, forgot to list the power supply :lol: Corsair VX550W

Edited by damian, 04 August 2009 - 05:04 PM.


#98 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 August 2009 - 05:05 PM

Base setup

Core i7 965 at 3.96GHZ
6 GB memory
1 1tb drive
4 Scythe Kaze 2000 RPM fans
Water cooled
D5 Vario setting 5

Voltage measured from the wall Highest draw in 3D06 Canyon Test. In Furmark the numbers go much higher
2 x 4870x2 Crossfire X Non overclocked 936 watts
2 x GTX 295 Quad SLI 757 watts
2 x 4850x2 CrossfireX 654 watts
2 x 4890 Crossfire 522 watts
2 x 4870 Crossfire 546 watts
2 x GTX285 SLI 594 watts
2 x GTX260 SLI 511 watts


Hope that gives you an idea as to what they run. This is measured from the wall and is the entire system load not just the video cards. This was run with a thermaltake 1200 watt toughpower PSU.

Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#99 jammin

jammin

    e = MC Hammer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted 04 August 2009 - 05:06 PM

Although I have had only one power supply for two years now...

I wonder how many more years she has in her? Thoughts Jammin, Paul?

EDIT: woops, forgot to list the power supply :lol:

Corsair VX550W


Depends what you decide to throw at it in the future as much as anything else.
At the end of the day it would be complete guesswork.

The important thing is that Corsair is confident enough to give you 5 years for which you don't have to worry (only 3 more to go then).


Frank - Thanks, that does give me a reasonable idea. Multiply those numbers by 0.85 and you should get a reasonable DC load estimate (assuming you haven't done that already).
So 936W becomes 795W for example.

Posted Image
Recommended Power Supplies List - Follow OCC on Posted Image
Custom case - i5 2500K - ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z - 8GB Mushkin - HD6670 1GB - Corsair AX850 - E-MU 0404 USB


#100 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 04 August 2009 - 05:59 PM

Frank - Thanks, that does give me a reasonable idea. Multiply those numbers by 0.85 and you should get a reasonable DC load estimate (assuming you haven't done that already).
So 936W becomes 795W for example.

This is the part everyone forgets! If you forget to convert AC to DC the numbers look much higher than they really should.
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#101 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 August 2009 - 08:41 PM

Agreed. Just wanted to throw the numbers out as they were to give an example of what my system did with some high end multi gpu setups.

Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#102 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:38 AM

Just the thread I need. I have problems with stability no matter what voltage I give my CPU around 3.60gHz. if I try to go higher than 3.62gHz the system does not post no matter what voltage I give to the cpu... even if I specify ram timings, raise ram voltage, etc. I've tried it all but anything between 3.62gHz and 4.0 is unreachable. However I can get it to boot at 4.0gHz however it is extremely unstable. I am thinking my 700W PSU might be the weak link here I don't think its feeding either enough watts or amps to fuel my overclock anymore. What do you guys think?

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#103 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 August 2009 - 06:49 PM

Just the thread I need. I have problems with stability no matter what voltage I give my CPU around 3.60gHz. if I try to go higher than 3.62gHz the system does not post no matter what voltage I give to the cpu... even if I specify ram timings, raise ram voltage, etc. I've tried it all but anything between 3.62gHz and 4.0 is unreachable. However I can get it to boot at 4.0gHz however it is extremely unstable. I am thinking my 700W PSU might be the weak link here I don't think its feeding either enough watts or amps to fuel my overclock anymore. What do you guys think?

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W

Send me your Bios shots of what you are running and maybe I can help you out. The 700 should be fine where you are running hardware wise.

Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#104 KK_

KK_

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 06 August 2009 - 04:08 AM

Just the thread I need. I have problems with stability no matter what voltage I give my CPU around 3.60gHz. if I try to go higher than 3.62gHz the system does not post no matter what voltage I give to the cpu... even if I specify ram timings, raise ram voltage, etc. I've tried it all but anything between 3.62gHz and 4.0 is unreachable. However I can get it to boot at 4.0gHz however it is extremely unstable. I am thinking my 700W PSU might be the weak link here I don't think its feeding either enough watts or amps to fuel my overclock anymore. What do you guys think?

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W


i have the same PSU , havent had much of a problem with mine.
havent really pushed anything that far yet

Case: NZXT Tempest - 4x120mm 2x140mm
Mobo: Asus P45 P5Q SE Plus
CPU: Q8400 2.66 @ 3.12ghz (Overclocked) - Cooler Master GeminII S HSF 120mm
Ram: 3x1GB DDR2 G.Skill 1x1Gb Geneic AData (790mhz)
GPU: Sapphire 6970 2GB @ stock
PSU: 750W Themaltake Blue_Evo
HDD: 1x 750GB 1x 160GB 2x 1TB
OS: Windows 7 64bit SP1


#105 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 06 August 2009 - 08:21 AM

Send me your Bios shots of what you are running and maybe I can help you out. The 700 should be fine where you are running hardware wise.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Edited by Compxpert, 06 August 2009 - 08:22 AM.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#106 Fireonice

Fireonice

    ya bro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vero beach, fl

Posted 06 August 2009 - 12:17 PM

Uhh i run everything in my rig with a 500w psu....

c2d e8400 @ 4.05ghz! 24/7 1.38vcore 450FSB bad batch! stock right now|lapped TRUE w/ kaze fan|2x 2gb G.Skill ddr2 1100 5-5-5-15 2.2v|Gigabyte x38-ds4|XFX GTX 260 black edition|Enermax Liberty 500w|2x Seagate 320 gb 7,200 rpm 16mb in raid 0|Seagate 400gb 7,200 16mb|AuzenTech Xplosion


[url="http://profile.xfire...om/crazy4life"]Posted Image


#107 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 06 August 2009 - 04:25 PM

I run my EXTREME system on a 400w, unless it craps the bed it will be used in my next system as well...

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#108 Boinker

Boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3610 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 06 August 2009 - 04:44 PM

hmm. Why measure out what your system takes in when you can just go off of the Manufacture recomendations. Every video card, chip, HDD ect has its own set of specs on the net. ME, I like to keep it simple. Find a power suppply that is good enough to power the Video card plus a bit then thats all I look for. Only rreason I got the one I have is Free shipping, Smoking good deal, and A three way SLI dream. <--- That dream died long ago.

Plus Like varren Mentioned I also would rather Pay extra for something That won't smoke due to overload.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not fix it I hop in a Timber Wolf and Blast it to microscopic Particles.

gallery_64925_577_90061.png