Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Proving you don't need a huge PSU to run a Hi-End System


  • Please log in to reply
107 replies to this topic

#25 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 22 May 2007 - 04:17 AM

Do you have the U01?
I will try and dig up some efficiency figures if I can.

Honestly, I'm not sure which version I have. :unsure:

Are how different are the versions, anyways?
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#26 kingdingeling

kingdingeling

    King of the Autobahn

  • Folding Member
  • 10258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hannover, Germany

Posted 22 May 2007 - 04:40 AM

For now I have my 500W BeQuiet, that should last me for a while still, but if worst comes to worst, I still got the Enermax Noisetaker II 600W kicking about in my room, that I got back from RMA (never tried it since :lol:)

I guess I have no excuse for not being as awesome as King... - iKillSteal

Seriously, big credit goes out to King for maintaining this list. He puts a lot of work into this thing and he deserves our thanks! - Verran

RIP

| ThinkPad X1 Carbon | Core i5-4210U | 8GB DDR3L-1600 | Intel HD4400 | 256GB SSD | 14" WQHD |


#27 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 22 May 2007 - 06:16 AM

AMD quotes a peak power of 215W as far as I know
Posted Image

With overclocking this can go up of course, hence the 8-pin connector (2x6pin is limited to 225W I think?)

If someone finds reliable looking tests figures for actual card power draw, then that would be good to see.
There are some power figures at [H] but they include the whole system as well.

Check out this thread and read the quote I posted from ExtremeTech. They used the same number - 215 watts - provided by AMD but they measured an 80 watt increased power draw from the wall over a GeForce 8800. So that works out to about 64 watts increased power usage on the DC side assuming 80% efficiency on the PSU.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#28 KILLER_K

KILLER_K

    New Member

  • Members
  • 49 posts

Posted 22 May 2007 - 10:08 AM

Very nice reports thank you "jammin" for ther thread and everyone else for adding their views and stand points also.This really gave me some new info on things.Keep up the good work and thanks everyone again.Good Day.

#29 jammin

jammin

    e = MC Hammer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted 23 May 2007 - 07:17 AM

Anyone else have a lower powered PSU they would be willing to test in their main rig?

Even if you have a powerful PSU, but have a watt meter, I'd be interested to see any measurements :)

Oh, and I should probably add Fueler's Folding Rig into the mix (can't believe I forgot it).
229W at the plug comes out at around 170W assuming 75% efficiency. :)

Edited by jammin, 23 May 2007 - 07:17 AM.

Posted Image
Recommended Power Supplies List - Follow OCC on Posted Image
Custom case - i5 2500K - ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z - 8GB Mushkin - HD6670 1GB - Corsair AX850 - E-MU 0404 USB


#30 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 11385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 23 May 2007 - 08:42 AM

My God the size of this thing. Another reason you do not need one this big it will not fit in the normal PSU spot in the case. Looks like I am going to have to remove the bottom fan or try to move it to the other side of that partition its on.

Posted Image

I7-6900K Asus X99 Deluxe 2 Corsair Vengeance 32Gb Intel 750 400gb  2- 1080ti

 

sigimage.gif


#31 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 23 May 2007 - 09:18 AM

JESUS that thing is big... :o

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#32 Fueler

Fueler

    I should find something better to do with my money

  • Folding Member
  • 725 posts
  • Location:Florida, USA

Posted 23 May 2007 - 07:01 PM

My God the size of this thing. Another reason you do not need one this big it will not fit in the normal PSU spot in the case. Looks like I am going to have to remove the bottom fan or try to move it to the other side of that partition its on.

Posted Image



I'm guessing that the PSU cage and the partition are riveted in place.......I think I would try to remove the cage and relocate the partition as far forward towards the hard drive cage as possible. Good luck ....that's a big sucker :lol:

#33 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 11385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 23 May 2007 - 07:47 PM

Yes there are 4 rivets holding that partition that the fan is on, I can drill those out and move it.

I7-6900K Asus X99 Deluxe 2 Corsair Vengeance 32Gb Intel 750 400gb  2- 1080ti

 

sigimage.gif


#34 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12447 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 May 2007 - 07:56 PM

The galaxy is a huge psu.

Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#35 Comp Dude2

Comp Dude2

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1998 posts

Posted 23 May 2007 - 10:40 PM

kingdingeling you should sell that old psu if you aren't using it, it would probably be worth a decent amount never used.

Posted Image


#36 TTPete

TTPete

    New Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 May 2007 - 10:39 AM

I would take the max amount of watts measured and get a PSU that has double that amount. So if I was drawing ~300w, I would get a 500-600W PSU. Here is my analogy for this reasoning. You can get a 4 cylinder car to run at 100MPH at 6000RPM or you could get a V8 and be at 3000RPM doing the same speed. I would put my money on the V8 lasting a lot longer as long as long as its a good quality engine... Oh yea, a good quality PSU is important too.

I agree that you don't need a crazy 1000W PSU for the average high end machine (ie. Dual core CPU, 8800GTs/GTX card...) but I wouldnt suggest getting a 400W PSU when you know you are drawing 350W.