Steam out of OIL cap

CoolMaster

Just quick question, after driving hard. is it normal for steam to come out of your oil cap (i notice no coolant loss so i know it's not a head gasket leak)

but is that normal?

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, Im no mechanic, but I would have that looked at... All of your major fluids should be under pressure, at least mine are, and I would see steam as a sign that a seal of some sort has been compromised...

Im figuring he means he took his oil cap off lol. cause i dont think oil caps are meant to let pressure escape, as there should be none. Oil doesnt create pressure.

is there a light brown bubbling foam on the inside of the oil cap? take it off and check after the car has been running 10 minutes or more.

that is a 100% sure sign your head gasket is leaking... even a tiny little bit.

also oil doesn't steam or boil. it burns, and you get smoke coming out the exhaust.

besides you've bragged this "well built car" has how many miles on it without major problems? if it's 80,000 miles or more on a mid 90's or earlier build... a head gasket is inevitable unless you have a rolls royce (they don't have head gaskets)

My car actually has a guage for oil pressure... I understand that no liquid in and of itself would "create pressure", but that doesnt mean it isnt under pressure whean sealed right?

sure most cars have the gauge, but its telling you the amount of pressure the oil Pump is making, sucking the oil out the oil pan not how much pressure the oil is under in the entire block.

is there a light brown bubbling foam on the inside of the oil cap? take it off and check after the car has been running 10 minutes or more.

that is a 100% sure sign your head gasket is leaking... even a tiny little bit.

also oil doesn't steam or boil. it burns, and you get smoke coming out the exhaust.