Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

What kind of firewall do you use?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
38 replies to this topic

Poll: Firewall (75 member(s) have cast votes)

What kind of firewall do you use?

  1. Hardware (26 votes [35.14%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.14%

  2. Software: Windows (6 votes [8.11%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.11%

  3. Software: 3rd Party (Zone Alarm, Black Ice, Norton, etc) (12 votes [16.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 16.22%

  4. Both (software & hardware) (21 votes [28.38%])

    Percentage of vote: 28.38%

  5. Other (3 votes [4.05%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.05%

  6. None (6 votes [8.11%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.11%

Vote

#25 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 11385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 19 March 2007 - 08:05 AM

I still like to see what is trying to go out or trying to come in.

I7-6900K Asus X99 Deluxe 2 Corsair Vengeance 32Gb Intel 750 400gb  2- 1080ti

 

sigimage.gif


#26 Silverfox

Silverfox

    Day of the Testicle

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK

Posted 19 March 2007 - 09:40 AM

Same.
Was using a software firewall as well, but it wasn't really doing much so don't any more.


as per this loser ^ :lol:

:: T-Class Amp :: BenQ EW2430 :: PulseBox Premium ::

 :: Kef Cresta :: i5 2500 :: HD 6870 :: 16GB RAM ::


#27 fire_storm

fire_storm

    Total Nerd

  • Folding Member
  • 3977 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2007 - 12:36 PM

Use both a Router + windows firewall.

#28 SMeeD

SMeeD

    what the hell is a smeed?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Torrington, CT

Posted 19 March 2007 - 01:21 PM

Router and ZA most of the time.

#29 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 19 March 2007 - 04:03 PM

On linux I don't use any but ill base mine off of what I use on windows. I use a firewall built into my avg suite. :D

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#30 nan0click

nan0click

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Location:Fort Worth, Tx

Posted 19 March 2007 - 10:23 PM

Hack me please, none.

AMD 64 3000+ :: MSI K8N Neo FSR :: 1024MB Corsair Value :: ATI x800GTO :: SB Audigy2 ZS Platinum :: 80GB IDE 160/300GB SATA :: DVDR/RW + DVD/CDR/RW Combo


#31 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 20 March 2007 - 01:04 AM

Hack me please, none.

What kind of idiot runs no firewall?

*Looks at his own computer*
DOH!

I haven't gotten around to installing anything or fiddling with my routers firewall. <_<
Plus my Windows isn't even activated and I don't even have "ANY" Windows updates after SP2, so I'm screwed either way...

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#32 Tirian-64

Tirian-64

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Minnesoooota

Posted 20 March 2007 - 02:58 AM

just threw one up for both, one on the linksys, then windows, then norton
which needs to be updated now that i think about it :rolleyes:
eVGA 680i SLI
Intel C2D E6600 w/ Thermaltake V1 currently sitting pretty @ 3.2ghz
2 Gigs G.Skill ddr2 800 ram
eVGA 8800GTS (g92)
2x 160gb western digital caviar raid-0
1x 250gb western digital caviar
Thermaltake armor

#33 madwizard

madwizard

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shelby, Ohio

Posted 20 March 2007 - 03:27 AM

We use Shorewall here at the office. Been thinking of setting up my own Shorewall at home. I use just xp - firewall at home.
"Onward Through The Fog" !!

<a href="http://photobucket.com/" target="_blank"><img src="http://i171.photobuc...ew/folding.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"></a>

MSI - K8NGM2-MB,, AMD-64-3000+ (1.81 GHz) ,,1-gig (2) 512 DDR (PC3200) Ram,, MAXTOR- STA - 7200-RPM- 80 GIG HD. CASE -XKROMA - ATX -Crome - 500 watt - PSU - SAPPHIRE Radeon X550 256MB DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card

#34 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 21 March 2007 - 01:31 PM

Hardware only. If someone can get through that they can get through any software firewall I've got going anyway.

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#35 romeo55

romeo55

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan

Posted 21 March 2007 - 01:53 PM

A crappy VOIP Router (Hardware) and Comodo

Daily: Lenovo T420

Server: PII X4 965 BE | Corsair XMS2 4x2GB DDR2 | Gigabyte GA-MA785G | Sapphire HD7970 OC | 2x80GB RAID-0 3x500GB, 1x1TB, 1x3TB | Cooler Master V750W

 

 

 


#36 thespin

thespin

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1662 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 04:00 PM

Software: AVG
Hardware: Netopia set to "Silent Running" ... (Dive! Dive!) ...