Contacts

nan0click

This may sound stupid, but I started wearing contacts in August, they're the 1 month semi-disposable. I know people wear them for way more than the recomended time, do they generally lose their strength over time? I have been wearing a pair for 2 months or so now and it seems they aren't working as well as they should be, but then again, its always seemed the contacts weren't quite at the right prescription anyway, but these seem worse. Also, do they lose the basic shape and become "flatter" still curved, but not as defined any more?

Thanks for any answers, I was just kind of curious.

I have the disposables and I do notice that they loose some clarity over time. Actually I really don't notice while wearing them but once I finally get in the new pair I can tell how bad they had gotten. I figured it was just some kind of permanent protein buildup since they were disposables. They do seem to get structurally weaker overtime because I only switch them out when they rip and they seem to rip at about the two month range or so (Im pretty careful so its the contact itself in fact Ive had a few tear while in my eye). As for the shape I think they gradually relax to the natural shape of your eye. In my case I think my eyes are slight differently shaped because switching a pair from eye to eye that Ive had for a while hurts like crap.

I wear my contacts until I lose/rip them. I think I'm averaging 2-4 months. Drives my optomitrist crazy because I don't think he gets the full kick back on the contacts because we only order 6 months worth for a year. :-P

I have astigmitism if that means anything. (Contact strength: Left= -7.00 Right= -8.00)

I wear my contacts until I lose/rip them. I think I'm averaging 2-4 months. Drives my optomitrist crazy because I don't think he gets the full kick back on the contacts because we only order 6 months worth for a year. :-P

I have astigmitism if that means anything. (Contact strength: Left= -7.00 Right= -8.00)