Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Occ Raid Guide


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#13 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 26 October 2008 - 12:47 AM

U would have to format both drives b4 setting up RAID. Which means u would lose the data off both of them.

4670k + GTX 980Ti -- crammed into a mini-ITX case

Arch Linux

About Me


#14 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 26 October 2008 - 01:02 AM

I know it's a bit late but the RAID 0 description is a bit off. RAID 0 doesn't improve access times it increases throughput on large files.

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#15 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 20 December 2008 - 02:19 PM

Original post updated with info on RAID-6 and RAID-10. Please feel free to comment on new or old information if you have suggestions.

I know it's a bit late but the RAID 0 description is a bit off. RAID 0 doesn't improve access times it increases throughput on large files.

Updated the RAID-0 description to clarify the benefits to read/write throughput as opposed to access times. Thanks!
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#16 Boinker

Boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3544 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:07 AM

I do not have a reply or a comment.

I just want to plus one for verran, occ members, staff, and everyone who participated.

this is not only a great guide but if you look around there is a monument of excellent guides to be hold here.

+1 to all of you.

Boinker

Edited by boinker, 03 March 2009 - 07:08 AM.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not fix it I hop in a Timber Wolf and Blast it to microscopic Particles.

gallery_64925_577_90061.png


#17 Azash

Azash

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartford

Posted 03 December 2009 - 12:16 PM

When you have a RAID 1 setup and you partition your disc, does the mirror have the same parition or is it not paritioned at all?

#18 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 December 2009 - 12:26 PM

When you have a RAID 1 setup and you partition your disc, does the mirror have the same parition or is it not paritioned at all?

Kinda sorta.

The RAID may or may not write RAID-specific data to the disks. If it does, you can't just pull a disk out of the RAID and boot it up in another machine (unless that machine has a matching RAID controller). If it doesn't you may be able to boot the second (or third, etc) disk in the RAID 1 array on another machine.

Does that answer the question?


EDIT: It may be worth noting that with a good RAID controller RAID 1 can actually increase read speeds significantly if it's intelligent about how it splits up the read requests. :)

Edited by Waco, 03 December 2009 - 12:30 PM.

Tolerance is a sign of weakness.


#19 Azash

Azash

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartford

Posted 04 December 2009 - 12:15 PM

Not quite what I was asking. I mean if I partitioned like 20gigs for my OS and 60gigs for data, would both drives be partitioned as such or would the main one be partitioned and the mirror not be?

#20 Azash

Azash

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartford

Posted 08 December 2009 - 10:27 AM

Anyone know?

#21 ebarone

ebarone

    The SSD Cheerleader

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1051 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 February 2010 - 11:59 AM

Almost 2 months late, but maybe this will help someone else. AFAIK, the short answer is yes. My RAID controller works in disks, not partitions, where RAID1 Array = Disk 1 + Disk 2... not Partition X on Disk 1 and Partition Y on Disk 2. It mirrors the entire disk, including partition table and MBR. HOWEVER... I have used software raid controllers in Linux, and I'm sure there are Windows ones too (W7 has it built in) that will mirror only a partition, not the whole disk. So if you want the whole shebang mirrored, use a hardware-based raid controller and you *should* be okay.

"What do you mean you 'dont know why' thats funny?? Its a big black guy punching a 100 year old woman in the face! How many more excuses for 'funny' do you need???"
Gaming system, OC speeds TBD:
i7 975X stock speeds | Corsair H50 w/ 2 Scythe Slipsteams | eVGA GTX 480SC + PNY GTX480OC | 3x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000
Asus P6X58D Premium | 3x Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD in RAID0, 2x Seagate 7200.10 500GB in RAID0 | Win7 Pro x64 | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
CoolerMaster Stacker 810 | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5
GF's "new" gaming system (aka my old one):
[email protected]4203MHz@1.296v | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | eVGA 9800 GTX+ | 2x2GB Corsair [email protected]
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L | 1TB WD Green | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Thermaltake 1000W Mod | CoolerMaster Centurion | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5


#22 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 06 September 2010 - 07:23 AM

Old thread i know but if you have say, a raid 5 set up and one drive fails how do you reconstuct the data?
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#23 ebarone

ebarone

    The SSD Cheerleader

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1051 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 September 2010 - 02:10 AM

Do you mean how does the RAID controller do it (by using a parity bit like this), or whats the end-user procedure to doing it? I would imagine its similar to reconstructing a RAID 1 array on your end, just drop the drive in, load your RAID BIOS, and find the reconstruct option.

"What do you mean you 'dont know why' thats funny?? Its a big black guy punching a 100 year old woman in the face! How many more excuses for 'funny' do you need???"
Gaming system, OC speeds TBD:
i7 975X stock speeds | Corsair H50 w/ 2 Scythe Slipsteams | eVGA GTX 480SC + PNY GTX480OC | 3x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000
Asus P6X58D Premium | 3x Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD in RAID0, 2x Seagate 7200.10 500GB in RAID0 | Win7 Pro x64 | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
CoolerMaster Stacker 810 | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5
GF's "new" gaming system (aka my old one):
[email protected]4203MHz@1.296v | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | eVGA 9800 GTX+ | 2x2GB Corsair [email protected]
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L | 1TB WD Green | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Thermaltake 1000W Mod | CoolerMaster Centurion | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5


#24 RobbanSWE

RobbanSWE

    New Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 March 2011 - 08:56 AM

Basic Raid0 With 5 ssd sata2 on Asus p8p67 pro motherboard
The speed is fantastic over 1210mb\s :woot:
It work with 6 SSD in raid 0 for more extreme speeds up to 1400mb\S with the onboard sata chip

i got a new batterybackup write cache of 512mb ,hardware raidkontroller with 8 of 300mb\s lanes that gives me around 2gb\s,, but 1600-1800mb\s would be more acurat
Can add pictures and info later of the controllersystem when it finisch :haha::doh:
intelrapidstorage.jpg
5xraid0 ssd.jpg

Edited by RobbanSWE, 01 March 2011 - 08:58 AM.